High School Crush

Gee whiz, sorry errybody, I have been slacking on my posting because my job takes up all my time and when I get home I pretty much face plant into my bed.  It’s a rough life.  Anyway…

The time has come to reveal the story of the high school crush.  Twas the summer before my freshman year in high school when I first locked eyes on HSC, we were taking summer gym and health together learning about periods, squats, and all that jazz. While we never actually talked that summer I was still pretty much head over heels in love with him and it only grew when we got to high school and had the same history class.  That’s right, a full year of high school crush every frickin’ day.  My attendance was perfect that year, not only was high school crush in my class but our last names are by each other in the alphabet and we had assigned seats next to each other.   So we got to know each other more and more and had that innocent 14 year old flirtation thing happening along with note passing and doodling on each others notes.  How presh!

Then he got a girlfriend and crushed my dreams, so I dated his best friend.  Revenge sucka! Years passed and it was our senior year, you all already heard the story of how we made out and I puked on him, that whole thing passed and we returned to school.  The secret was out that we liked each other, but there was also that other pesky girl that puked on him that liked him too.  One day after school my friend Mo sat me down and told me that he liked both of us and he didn’t know what to do.  I didn’t pursue it after that because I wasn’t going to be in a line up of girls for him to choose from, because goddamnit any guy who is going to be with me shouldn’t even have to think about it!! So he dated the other girl, they fell in love and dated through a few years of college and the only time we ever spoke to each other was in passing at parties, where I mostly gave him the stink eye for not chasing after me, and also dumped a bag of chips on his head when he passed out at a party once.  But shhh… nobody knows that.  I have a picture too.  I’ll share it later when he loves me and we can all have a good laugh about it.

The last time I saw him was about a month after my 21st birthday (over 4 years ago), when I was home for Easter and went to a bar with a few friends.  I saw HSC, his parents, and his bff sitting in  a booth.  3 vodka cranberry’s later I went over and sat in the booth with them.  Apparently I interrupted a very deep conversation because as soon as I sat down HSC’s mom points to me and says, “Is this the prostitute you were talking about?” Like christ lady, I know I was wearing wedge heels that strapped half way up my leg but that was in style back then, I mean it was 2006! And I had on a full coverage t-shirt.  Give me a break.

So 4 years passed and when Snoop-Linus and I hit the rocks I made the executive decision to send HSC a facebook message, because he looks good, I look good and I thought we should try and look good together. But instead I asked where the good areas to live in his city were because I was considering moving there after school.  Which was not true at all, just a conversation starter.  Also something we will laugh about at our wedding, you guys can tell the story in your toast if you want.  It’s cool with me.  We exchanged a few messages and the conversation trailed off into the land of lost conversations.  5 months later I got a facebook message from him asking if I ever moved there.  We messaged back and forth, exchanged numbers and decided we would meet to catch up.  Which here 3 months later still hasn’t happened.  With a push from Lucky I decided to text him last night, and this convo between Lucky and myself happened:

G: Annnnnnd sent…..Ahhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!

L: Wwahhhhhhh

G: OMG I hope he doesn’t reply, what will I say back?

L: You will say, “I’m a gay wad!”

G: Yeah he’s probably thinking I’m a gay wad for starting a text “hey hey”

L: You said that?

G: I mean I said more but yeah I started it with hey hey.  I panicked.  He’s not responding, is he?

L: Bwhahahahahaha he will respond.

G: I do it all for the blog.  I just cried after I sent that.  This is like a life long dream come true.

L: HAHA!! I think I want him to respond just as much as you.

G: OMG HE RESPONDED!!! I can’t look.

L: OMG OMG OMFG!!!!!!

G: What do I say?!!!!!!! OMG I won’t be in town!!! I have to work that night!! Fuck ballsack!! My life is over!!!!!

L: Lol omg I’m loving it.  Say you’ll be in town for Thanksgiving and in the city Friday if he wants to grab a drink?

G: Yeah that’s good

L: Just feel him out and see if he’s booked

G: Annnnnnd sent! Ahhhhh!

L: Don’t have a heart attack

G: I’m going to write my 16 year old self a letter tonight and tell her, “Don’t worry, you WILL talk to HSC when you are 25.”

L: You totally said you’d be in town Wednesday. (I was forwarding Lucky the convos as they were happening for evaluation.)

G: Ohhhh shit! I panicked again!

L: The ex was texting me wanting to know what I was doing and I was like uhhhh freaking out because Gizzy is texting HSC!!!!

L: I’ve been watching QVC for 3 days.  It makes me so happy, no drama, all happy, everything is so pretty.

L:  Did he respond yet?

G: No 😦 This kind of feels high school again, like how I added him to msn messenger and never talked to him, I’ve had his number for 3 months and never used it.

L: Christ.

G: OMG he’s not writing back! Why did I have to say something about drinking? He’s probably like goddddd she’s such a drunk.

L: Gizzy remember what you tell me, not to freak out when they don’t respond right away.  He could be having dinner.

G: Yeah with a girl, FUCK! He’s dating someone omg.

L: No he’s single.

G: Oh he texted back

L: HAHAHAHA

This went on for upwards of 15 texts until Lucky and I decided it was time for me to be cool and quit freaking out because I was freaking her out.  We texted for a solid 5 hours until almost midnight and officially have plans to meet up on Wednesday.  I don’t think there are words to express what’s going through my head.  I probably would’ve literally peed myself had this happened in high school, we’re talking an 11 year crush and something is finally happening.  All that waiting finally paid off.  I’m the winner!!!! The last girl standing! BOOYAHHH!!!! If this doesn’t work out I really might die.


Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “High School Crush

  1. GI-ZZY! (clap, clap, clap) GI-ZZY! (clap, clap, clap) GI-ZZY! (clap, clap, clap).

    -L

  2. Alexia says:

    Hahaha, you guys crack me up! I’m rooting for you Gizzy!! Also, stepping aside ‘cos a guy’s not 100% certain he wants you and only you? Uhm… YES!

  3. emjaye says:

    I especially like the part where you are like, “he’s not gonna respond” and then he does and you don’t want to look because I do that ALL the time! Go girl. Go get your man-child, former 14-year-old crush!

    • Ahh thanks, and yes it’s like an un-jinx if you’re like, “He’s not gonna respond” then you know he totally will because you said he wouldn’t out loud. At least thats what I like to think.
      -Gizzy

  4. haha, sooo weird I happen to have a picture of an old crush myself that i drew a picture of a penis on him when he passed out once at a party..goood times. enough of my ranting, good post. (making awesome visual and encouraging sign)

  5. It’s Wednesday! Good luck tonight! Remember to breathe. And that you’re awesome.

  6. Goody says:

    wow! good luck with the rendezvous! i hope everything goes well! now i have to come back and visit your blog jsut so i can find out what happened! thanks again for visiting mine!

  7. justmarriedgirl says:

    Oh, this means you’re meeting right now! Maybe even making out and planning your honeymoon. You must update us tomorrow!!

  8. Isobel says:

    Amazing, you guys are hilarious! Make sure you let us know how last night went!!

  9. Catherine says:

    Haha!! Love this!! Can’t wait to hear all about it 🙂

  10. […] let on enough, I was SUPER psyched up for this past Friday night.  I had seen on facebook that THE HIGH SCHOOL CRUSH and I would be attending the same party.  It was pretty much now or never.  Something had to […]

Leave a Reply

