Lucky and Wonderland.

Well it’s back to me, living a life based on fantasy…since my real one pretty much sucks.

I’ve developed a recent, um, addiction I guess you could call it, to the movie theatre. I’ve seen four movies in a little over two weeks.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always liked going to the movies. But now, it’s become a crutch. It gets me out of the house, and I can go alone. Alone is something I am a lot of these days, since it seems I have no friends within a two-state radius.

So, I’ve seen all kinds of movies, drank a ton of soda, and had my fair share of buttery popcorn and boxed chocolate.

That is what started my life in fantasy world. Well, that, plus my annoying job, which has lately lead to me gazing off into nothing for at least an hour each day. I think about getting published, I think about being a famous writer, I think about becoming one of those ladies who lunch, and then I realize if I want any of that, I should use my time wisely instead of daydreaming like a damn fool.

Once I’m in my buttery chocolate coma, I fall into an amazing sleep that’s delivered a few amazing dreams the past few nights.

Dream #1: My hot ex-neighbor plays for the Cubs.

Unfortunately my hot ex-neighbor didn’t live above me at the time this blog was around. Damn that boy is so fine! Tall. Dark. Sexy. Lawyer. Semi-hippie.

Fuck.

He moved after he passed the bar. I definitely left a note on his car one afternoon inviting him to take a study break and have a drink at my bar…and he did. It was amazing. Then, I tried to give him my number, but that didn’t go over so well.

Occasionally, he’ll send me a message on Facebook and ask if I’m still living in the same place. But alas, nothing has ever come of it.

So anyway, I had this dream that he was a star player for the Cubs. His ass was looking nice in that uniform is mainly what I remember. After a game, he was hosting a party in what looked to be a high school. I was trying my damnedest to sneak in, but of course I never got any face time with him.

Even in my dreams, my dating life is disappointing.

Dream #2: One of my co-writers at the magazine was my roommate.

Thursday night, I had a dream that the sports editor asked me to move in. In my dream he was cute, and in real life he’s pretty cute, too, but he’s young…and probably thinks I’m a valley girl loser. Anyway, Gizzy came to visit me when I was moving in with this guy and she was really impressed with how he souped up my new room. It was true—two giant tvs, new furniture…

Then he walked out of the shower naked. Umm yeah…he looked nice. Gizzy and I were both doing that nervous laughter kind of thing, and he was all cute about it like, “hey this is going to happen now that we’re roomies and all…” with this little side smile thing he does.

Boys.

When I went in for my weekly meeting the next day and saw the sports editor, I immediately felt embarrassed and awkward. I’d just seen him naked…only not.

Anyway, over the weekend, I tapped into another little fantasy nugget—season one of Lipstick Jungle. Any watchers?

Last summer, I started a mission to read all of Candace Bushnell’s books. I’ve read all but one: Sex & The City, Lipstick Jungle, 4 Blondes, The Carrie Diaries, and One Fifth Avenue. All I have left is Trading Up…and the Carrie Diaries sequel which isn’t out yet (this summer!).

The book Lipstick Jungle was amazing, I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something sexy. I never checked out the tv series when it was actually on tv, but I bought it last weekend when I was hunting for Mary Tyler Moore.

The story revolves around three high powered women, one in fashion, one in movies, and one in magazine. Needless to say, Nico, the magazine editor, is my favorite. Not to mention a very steamy affair she is having with a sexy young buck named Kirby.

Please see:

Ok, so his face, not so hot, but that’s what paper bags are for. The body, HELLS YES! Good God Almighty.

PS. When I searched for that image, I stumbled across an amazing blog I can’t wait to catch up on: Chick Lit is Not Dead.

So anyway, I’m sure I should work on a task-list of some sort to make my reality more like this fantasy world I tend to be living in. But for now, I think I’ll keep my head in the clouds…until it starts raining.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Lucky and Wonderland.

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    Those are pretty vivid (and hot) dreams. Mine are mostly boring, like my life.

  2. weird that your dreams revolve around sports. maybe you should pick up lesbianism for a bit. that’s only if your pussy agrees to. i always wanted to watch a movie by myself but always thought it would be like going to a nice restaurant by yourself

Leave a Reply

