Cheerio ole chap!

Well folks, tomorrow is The Day! Kate and Wills are finally getting married. Did you ever expect me to be this excited? With all the wedding drama this season, and me not having a man anywhere in sight, you’d think I would throw my television out the window at any sight of true love in this world.

I was actually telling Gizzy over the weekend, as I was shedding a few tears, that I don’t like the person I’ve become lately. I’m scared that problems I’ve had with dating and issues I’ve had with my family, have turned me into a cold, bitter person that will never trust anyone enough to love again.

And in some cases, I really do feel that way. But, the fact that I’m getting up five hours before work tomorrow to watch a wedding on TV, shows me that I do have a little bit of that Happy Go Lucky in me.

So, Cheers to the royal wedding! Now, how to celebrate?

Being up so early, I’m definitely going to need some food and drink. But, what? After some minor research, I’ve got a few ideas.

Scones with tea, strawberries and cream, bangers and mash (sausage and mashed potatoes), or perhaps a Royal Wedding Donut from Dunkin Donuts??

Now, if I didn’t have to go to work, I’d definitely plan to pop a cork in the newlyweds’ honor. However, I don’t know if I should show up to the work retreat with a buzz…or should I?

The question remains, why am I so excited?

I’ve never really been interested in royals, however I’m often curious about Princess Diana’s life and death. In what I’ve seen (through many documentaries and made for TV movies) Kate is similar to Diana in several ways.

I’ve always admired Kate. I love love love her classic, yet chic, style. Although she seems like the sweetest, girl next door, we all know she’s stirred the royal pot a little bit (when her mum was caught chewing gum at Wills’ parade!!!). And I loved it when William dumped her, what did she do? Hit the bars in hot little dresses.

But the number one reason I’m so excited, is because it truly is a fairy tale. She’s a “commoner” (if you consider her million dollar parents common) getting to marry her prince—a real prince!

Sigh.

Anyway, after my lovely morning admiring Kate and Wills, I’m off to the work retreat. Then, after that, I’m off on the road trip for the Bachelorette Bash weekend. Here is the latest e-mail we got, regarding the retreat:

Hello and good morning, everyone.  Hope you had a relaxing Easter weekend.

This is a reminder about our upcoming retreat on Friday, April 29.  We will meet at the Suites. Let us know if you have any questions about where to go.  Dress is “casual Friday attire.”  Continental breakfast will be available from 8-8:30 am and the program will begin at 8:30. We are having pizza delivered for lunch.

Walter, from the College of Business will be with us to present the survey results.  After lunch, Craig, an Executive Coach and Strategic Planning Consultant, will speak to us.

Please let Syneesha know as soon as possible if you are not able to attend. Here is the agenda for the day.  We are looking forward to having an enjoyable time together.

8:30-8:35              Welcome

8:35-11:30           Survey Overview

11:30-12:00         Lunch

12:00-12:30         Our Most Important Customer

12:30-12:40         Values Overview

12:40-1:15           Core Values

1:15-2:00              The Meaning of Values/Behaviors Associated with Values

2:00-2:15              Vision Statement

ADJOURN

Sounds really exciting, right? I’ve already heard chatter ’round the office about people wanting to “discuss” certain issues. It’s a well-known fact that the higher up who planned this meeting hates anything off-the-cuff, which is why every minute of the day is planned—no time for Jerry Springer moments. However, this chatter that I’m hearing makes me giddy. I hope someone starts a fire!

Now, about this bachelorette weekend. For the most part, I’m pretty excited. I mean it’s a weekend at a nice hotel, nice pool, and plenty of things to do. And hell, I’ve packed a handle of vodka, a 2-litter of soda, and a bag of limes, so I’ll be fine. But there’s just one thing I’m a little worried about.

Remember that stock the bar party I went to awhile back, with the douche-y husband? Yeah…his wife is going on the trip. Of course she is! Because I can’t just have normal shit happen to me, it all has to be dramatized and have some sort of back story, because I have an anger management problem and therefor I need to be punished.

Hopefully, she won’t walk in with a grudge and confront me about it, but if she does, my liquid courage will save me from confrontational hives.

And last, but not least, did anyone watch The Voice Tuesday night? I absolutely LOVED it…except for one thing—Carson Daly. Seriously Carson, TRL is so over.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Cheerio ole chap!

  1. justmarriedgirl says:

    Hahaha. I had the same reaction to Carson Daly. I mean, do they really need a Ryan Seacrest type host? Lame.

    If that wife gives you attitude, just look at her blankly and say, “Really?” If she goes on, trying to engage, try it again, “Really?” I bet she doesn’t say word one to you. After all, her husband was the a-hole. Feel bad for her that she has to live/sleep with him for the rest of her life.

    I’ve been resisiting the whole Kate and Wills thing, but after all the Today Show buzz this week, I’m finding myself kind of intrigued. I just know there’s no way I’ll be getting up early to watch it. Too lazy.

    Have fun at the retreat. Sounds bo-ring. Maybe you should get a buzz on beforehand.

    • Yeah, The Voice doesn’t really need a host. I mean, all he does is stand backstage anyway…

      As for Kate and Wills, I’m certain the highlights will be replayed many a time at reasonable hours 🙂

      -L

  2. Kevin says:

    Hahahaha I Didn’t know this was about the royal family until halfway down. I was all like “these girls have awesome friends and I wish I knew theis couple.”
    I don’t care for this wedding unlike most women. Ironically I was at Starbucks this morning and noticed the tip jars: one for caring about the wedding and vice versa. Accidentally, I tossed the change into the caring about this wedding

    Unfortunately

  3. Catherine says:

    Love that you are getting into the royal wedding! You are a romantic at heart 🙂 I will be sleeping through it. I’m still into weddings in a weird way (think it’s a byproduct of planning – and then not getting to have – mine), so I’ll watch a little of the recaps. To be honest, I don’t watch too many wedding shows (although I used to really enjoy them) because they just get me down. Anyway–enjoy! Happy retreat!

Leave a Reply

