But it IS personal: part I

Well, well, well. Monday, we meet again. You bastard.

What a weekend. It all began at 3 am when I got up Friday morning to see the beautiful (no more) Waitie Katie get married. And, not to complain, but I don’t recall any of you lovely readers joining me on Twitter for the event…just saying!

In a nutshell, I loved it. Her dress, eh, I loved the top and the collar, but the bustle? No ma’am. My favorite part was how William had his back turned the entire time she walked up the aisle…so romantic. And I loved the trees!

It made me think about the relationships I’ve had. And I’ve decided one thing—it’s time to raise the standard. I’m only marrying royalty.

Okay, so maybe that’s a little too far, but I want some true romance in my life. None of this lazy, selfish bullshit that I’ve been putting up with for years.

And with that in mind, the work retreat.

We met at a conference room away from our usual office, and had that strict schedule you all saw. I was beginning to wonder if there would really be any moments to remember.

The first half of the day we went over some survey results. A few weeks ago, we took a survey that measures how you think, or how you solve problems. When I got my results back, you are assigned a number that says just how adaptive you are or just how innovative you are.

My number was exactly in the middle.

It was actually interesting to hear other people’s numbers…because anyone extremely adaptive, I hate. Anyone extremely innovative, I also hate.

Right before lunch, we had a second speaker who was going to talk to us about reaching our audience.

And somehow, this conversation turned into how much our office sucks.

I’m fairly certain it started when we were going over some definitions we voted on were very important. Things like integrity, collaboration, enjoyment, trust, etc.

We would create our own definition of the word, and then explain what that “looks like” in an office.

When we got to “trust,” that’s when the conversation ripped apart. Someone brought up the fact that alot of the people in our office take things so personal, when it’s just business.

This is an interesting concept for me. As my number says, I’m in the middle, and that’s where I stand on this subject. Because I am honest, and believe in being honest to someone’s face, I often come across as being abrasive.

In those circumstances, I feel like it’s nothing personal, it’s just business, and I wish my coworkers would see it that way.

However, there are certain people in my office who personally don’t like me. Because of that, they criticize my business decisions. They don’t join my office book club (did you guys know about that?), they don’t come to my meetings, etc.

In those instances, I do need to learn to overlook it, and know they will hang themselves one day—if I give them enough rope.

So, the speaker was saying while we do need to know it’s not personal, we also need to take into consideration people’s feelings and their level of sensitivity.

This is a complete load of bullshit. I don’t think I need to spend time sugar-coating the truth, just because I’m afraid someone is going to walk into their office and write a shitty email about me. Just suck it up.

But then, a beacon of light shone above my boss who said this:

“But what everyone isn’t saying, is that it IS personal. We don’t like each other and it affects everything.”

The look on the higher-ups’ faces was amazing.

I don’t know if they were shocked to hear it, or shocked to learn that we really don’t like each other.

The meeting ended shortly after that, but don’t worry, there’s a second retreat in two weeks.

After the meeting, I went home to get ready to leave for the bachelorette weekend. I was under the assumption we were leaving at 4:30, so I was relieved we got out of the retreat early so I could finish packing and be ready.

I didn’t get picked up until 6:30.

I don’t know if I can do myself justice when I tell you I hate it when people are late. It’s not like, oh damn, they’re late…it’s like, I start breathing irregularly, I clench my jaw, and I pace.

At work, I begin my meetings right on the dot. I don’t care if one person is there. I don’t understand this idea of strolling in at 10:03 when it starts at 10:00. It’s so disrespectful, and it really grinds my gears.

So at fucking two hours late, I made myself a vodka for the road. I knew I needed to calm down before I hopped into the car with three other girls.

When they arrive to pick me up, it’s the bachelorette and her maid of honor. Sweet. But then, we go pick up preggers…

Will I punch her in the face?? Will she rip my hair out? Part II on Wednesday, bitches!

PS. I guess I can’t leave without saying something about the death of Osama Bin Laden. Here’s my thought: meh.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “But it IS personal: part I

  1. mairedubhtx says:

    I think if you don’t like each other, that’s rather personal. I bet those retreat people were shocked that your boss was actually honest.

  2. Matthew says:

    Oh office politics. I have somehow found myself tangled up in pointless BS as well right now.

    It just doesn’t make any sense at all.

Leave a Reply

