Jerseday.

Today, it happens.

ITALY. GETS. SMUSHED.

Yep. Tonight is the season premiere of Jersey Shore a la Italy. Of course, those of you tuning into Shark Week wouldn’t understand something as exciting as this, but those of us who have embraced the guido culture understand how important this is.

Now, I have to say that I loved season one of Jersey Shore. Seasons two and three…subpar.

However, I spent my entire weekend watching all three seasons on repeat thanks to MTV, so now I am fist pumped for this season to get underway.

I’m convinced this season in Italy is going to make up for the last two rather boring ones. It is my philosophy that Jersey Shore is a hit because of its novelty—we don’t see that shit everyday. But after season one, it wasn’t new anymore, thus making it less funny. However, now that the gang is being thrown into a brand new situation, the novelty just might come back.

And come on, have you seen the preview where Ronnie knocks The Sitch out and he ends up on a stretcher? Shit!

Just in case you need to get hyped…

One word: Crocadilly.

This is kind of random, but I meant to post it Tuesday. I’d been noticing that I had reached what they call a “plateau” when it comes to my boxing workouts. When I started boxing, I noticed a difference in my physique in just three weeks. Buuuut my skinny jeans still don’t look good. So I asked my trainer what the deal was. He said my body had probably gotten used to the workouts and my diet and that I should shake it up some.

So I did. And I am. RIPPED.

That’s right, today is day 5 of my new diet (a menu I found on Yahoo)…and ok, I’ve worked out everyday, too. just in case you want to encorporate the diet, here it is (you’ll notice there’s very little carbs, which is why it’s the “flat tummy diet):

Breakfast: 1 tb natural peanut butter on whole wheat toast, 1 cup fresh berries

Lunch: 2 cups spinach, topped with tofu or lean meat (I use turkey), 1/2 avocado, and 1 cup of cherry tomatoes with a simple dressing of olive oil and fresh squeezed lemon.

Snack: 1 cup non-fat yogurt and 2 tb raw sunflower seeds.

Dinner: 1 serving of grilled salmon (or tilapia) with asparagus (sauteed in olive oil and fresh garlic) and 1 cup roasted sweet potato.

Seriously, I’ve noticed a huge difference! Let me know if anyone decides to try it!

In other, more serious news, I am moving.

But not far.

Yes, I really wanted to move to Gizzy’s city, or some other cool place, where my life would be better. But when it comes down to it, I just couldn’t justify quitting my job (yes, even though I hate it), and having to work retail or waitress while I look for something else in a brand new city. Like I said, I pretty much hate my job and most everyone I work with, but I get by with a lot of crap, and I get paid for it.

So, I took a long, hard look at the things I don’t like about my life:

1. job.

2. city.

3. apartment.

Which one can I change? #3.

So, when my lease renewal form came ’round, I ran to the leasing office with my two middle fingers up in the air and told them to suck it.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been on a mission to find a place that I’ll be happy in. I understand a new apartment isn’t going to change my life, but it will give me a change of scenery…and hey, I can redecorate!

My first choice of apartments is in a multi-use community, meaning…shops, stores, a movie theatre, wine bars, restaurants, bookstores, and grocery shops are all at the street level, while the apartments/lofts, are stacked on top.

I went to check it out, and pretty much fell in love. It’s complete hotel living, you park in an assigned spot in the garage, and take an elevator up to your apartment. Nothing is outdoors. And the windows and balconies? They overlook the park or the shops. Totally my scene.

So, I asked the lady what I needed to do to get one. She said simply fill out the application and put money down.

Done and done.

So I go back to my office, and am looking through the requirements…good credit (check), solid payment history (check), no jail time (check)…but then…I see it says the tenant must make a gross income of at least 4 times the monthly rent. Ehhh, HUH?

That would mean I would need to bring in $4,000 each month. Even though it’s before taxes, lets be honest, I don’t make it. I was stunned…the rent was cheaper than my current rent…and I was going to be denied.

I called my leasing agent in a complete tizzy. She then assured me I should still apply; which makes me think they use that rule to weed out the losers.

Well, I found out yesterday, that I was approved! Now, all I have to do is wait and see what apartments they have open—keep your fingers crossed!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Jerseday.

  1. 1) Because of the beauty of DVR I will be recording *both* Shark Week and Jersey Shore.
    2) OMG!!!! I’m so stoked for JERSEY FREAKING SHORE! I, too, spent all weekend watching the first three seasons a la MTV. The girls are coming over tonight for some vino and guido.
    3) I’m jealous of your ripped physique, but totally unable to practice any self control to get a better physique.
    Xo,
    Bridget

  2. I hope you love the new place! Good luck with the move!

  3. I will be tuning out of shark week tonight for some MVP time!!! I am so flipping excited.

    Also so happy for you that you were approved for the apt!! I will be planning a trip to come see the new digs!!

    G

  4. Matthew says:

    Congrats on the new apartment. I hate those ‘desired income questions’ but they typically don’t hold water (as you’ve found out).

    Getting a new place can definitely add a lot to how you feel about your life though. Living with friends since Januaray and then basically living out of a back pack as I volley between that house and the girlfriends I haven’t felt like I’ve had any place to call my own…to belong really.

    Hunting right now and dreaming of when I’ll move into.

    And as a representative speaking on my own behalf, and the behalf of other guido’s…I will not be watching Jersey Shore. 😉

  5. amanalynn says:

    Congrats on the apartment!!

    I too am excited about Jersey Shore!! I really hope this season makes up for the last one. It was terrible (but addictive).

  6. my0wneyes says:

    Congrats on the new place, a change of scenery can have such a dramatic change on the way you see things and then who knows…just that one move may open up other doors for you too (in the job area). I am excited about Jersey Shore too but have DVR’d it so I can run thru the commercials…:)

Leave a Reply

