What goes around comes around

It’s that time of the week again… Jerseday!  This week’s episode looks like it’s going to pick up right where we left off last season with the greased up co-eds.  I am pumped!

Speaking of drama dramz… a few weeks ago my friend Betty invited me to have to have dinner at her boyfriend’s parent’s house.  Betty, her boyfriend Jake, Jake’s daughter and Betty’s daughter would be in the big city for the week visiting Jake’s family.  I happily accepted and told her I would bring the wine.

A little back story, I met Betty in 9th grade we’ve had our ups and downs and moments where we weren’t the greatest of friends, and moments when I hated her.  But now in my adult life I’ve realized although she is a little nutty she is one of the only people aside from Lucky that I can honestly go to about anything and she won’t judge me.  Betty and I also went to college together, joined the same sorority and were roommates when we lived in the house.  At the end of our junior year in college Betty told me she wouldn’t be returning to the sorority house the next year and she was getting an apartment with some of her friends off campus. 

That summer Betty and I worked together at a golf course and Betty started dating one of the members, John.  By the time school started that fall Betty and John were in love and John was making the drive to our school almost daily to spend the night with Betty and then would drive an hour back to work each morning.  A month into the school year Betty had a falling out with her roommates, they were pissed that John was there every day.  John decided to move to our college town and him and Betty leased an apartment and moved in together. 

When the spring semester started the following January Betty was sick of being “married” and started to come hang out with me, my new boyfriend Douchearoo, and his friends.  Betty often cheated on John with Douchearoos friends and even had sex with a few of them.   We were all sworn to secrecy because of course Betty didn’t want to lose John, but she didn’t want to be tied down at the moment.

A month to 6 weeks later Betty asked me to dinner.  She said she had something to tell me.  She was pregnant.  The first question out of my mouth was, “Who is the father?!” She said it was for sure John; she had unprotected sex with him and used a condom with the other guys.  I didn’t know if I believed she could be 100% certain, but I went with it. 

Later that spring Betty told me she wouldn’t be returning to SHIT U, she and John were getting married at the beginning of the summer and they were going to buy a house near John’s office and she would go to school there. 

Douchearoo and I helped her move while John was at work, later that summer we attended their wedding, us being the only people in attendance other than Betty that knew the truth about what had gone down, also not knowing if when she had the baby that fall who it would look like.   But she seemed happy.

In the fall Betty gave birth to a little girl, who I still was uncertain who the father may be the first 6 months of the baby’s life.  Now, she is without a doubt John’s baby, she looks exactly like him – so yay!

About a year after the baby was born Betty informed me that her and John were having problems and were getting a divorce.  She had been cheating on him with guys her, Lucky, and I went to high school with, she wasn’t happy, she only married him because she was pregnant, yada yada yada…

By the New Year they had filed for divorce, Betty had a new apartment that John financed, and she had officially created a profile on match.com.  I went to visit Betty the night before her first match.com date with Jake.  We had a movie and wine night, I slept on her couch, woke up early the next morning wished her well on her lunch date (went back to school to find Snoop-Linus in bed with whore #2, nbd). 

Later that night Betty called me and told me she was in love, her and Jake got along great they’re practically boyfriend and girlfriend blah blah blah.  That summer Betty and Jake moved in together, although Jake had his doubts, tried to back out of it a few days before the big move saying it was too soon and Betty pressured him because she was already packed, they had already leased out her apartment, and she couldn’t afford the new one on her own.  So they moved in together.

All was good in the hood until a few months ago when Betty called me at 6:30 in the morning on a Saturday upset because Jake hadn’t come home.  He had gone to a nearby college town for a work dinner, called her around midnight (sounding wasted) and told her he would be home in an hour.   Betty and I went over the possible scenarios – she had already called his parents and all of the jails and hospitals between their apartment and the college town. 

At 2pm that afternoon Betty got a call from Jake that he had gotten too drunk and passed out on a friends couch in the college town.  Betty swore up and down that she was done with him for now, he was going away on a month long business trip the next day and she would have that time to look for a new apartment and move out by the time he returned.  I’ve been on this rodeo, easier said than done.  But I supported her and told her if she needed help to let me know.   A few days later they were fine, she believed his story and that was that until Betty invited me to his parent’s house for dinner.

The morning of the day I was set to have dinner with them and his family Betty texts me saying she found pictures of naked girls on Jake’s phone dating back throughout their entire relationship.  One girl in particular, who he works with and that she later found out lives in that nearby college town.  Since they were at his parent’s house Betty told his mom what was going on, he was crying, she was crying, the mom was crying, everyone was crying. 

I told Betty not to worry about the dinner, but she insisted.  So I walked into a house where you could cut the tension with a knife.  Betty and I took a walk after dinner and she asked me what she should do.   Jake had told her that the pictures were sent to him unsolicited and that he didn’t respond and thought he had deleted them.  Betty said she believed him and believed that he didn’t cheat on her but didn’t want to let him off the hook.  I told her the only thing I could think of, “He is a smart guy, he’s going to know how to cover this up.  No girl sends naked pictures of herself unsolicited.” Betty said that his male colleagues told him when he started working there that the women in his occupation are hungry for attractive and successful men, which he is.  I mean, aren’t they in any occupation? None the less, Betty was making excuses for him, as I probably would’ve done in her situation as well.  Because of course she wanted to believe him.

So instead of dumping him and moving out Betty came up with a list of things he has to do to prove his love to her and that he will never do this to her again.  He recommended counseling, so Betty agreed and who knows when and if that will actually happen.  But one of the things on Betty’s lists was that Jake has to apologize to her two best friends (me and another girl, Jane) and her family.  I’ve gotten mixed reactions from people I’ve told about this, I asked Snoop-Linus to do it once and he refused so I can appreciate the fact that he cares enough to try and make her friends and family like him.  Anyway… the email I got from him:

To: Gizzy

From:  Jake

Subject:  Sorry & Thank You

Hi Gizzy,

I want to apologize to you for causing so much stress last week and thank you for being a good friend to Betty.

I really had no idea how to handle the situation.  The interest from the girl was unsolicited and I thought by not saying anything, it would simply go away.  Obviously, it was not the case.

Betty and I are working on things, though we have a long way to go.  I realize that it is a process that will take time, especially with regards to trust.

If you would like to talk about it, do not hesitate to email back or call me.

Best wishes.

~Jake

 

I replied with a simple thank you for the message, I want to see my friend happy, I’ll always be here to support her and that I was glad they were working on things and all that jazz.

So here’s my final thought, do you think the saying what goes around comes around is true? Karma is a bitch?  Like if Betty hadn’t cheated on her husband all those times and snuck around doing shady things to him this wouldn’t be happening to her now?

If this is the case then I expect the freaking hottest nicest man knocking at my door any day now… Leo Dicaprio? Josh Hartnett? Justin Bieber?  Who knows, but it’s going to be awesome.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What goes around comes around

  1. Dennis Hong says:

    I don’t know that I believe in “what goes around, comes around.”

    I do, however, believe that like attracts like….

  2. Dennis Hong says:

    Bah, sorry. I guess opposites attract, too….

  3. Lucky says:

    I have no doubt that he asked the girl or girls for the picture and it was still on his phone because he probably looks at it all the time with his pants down.

    And the email thing is lame. Sure, Betty has been a cheater before, but she isn’t one in this relationship and she doesn’t deserve it.

    She should dump his ass.

    -L

Leave a Reply

