Fueling the fire.

My QLC continues.

Wednesday morning I skipped into the dentist’s office. You may recall back in March I had about $3,000 worth of work done to my sub-par teeth. I hadn’t been to the dentist in two years, so I knew it was going to be bad, but having to shell out that chunk of change (I don’t have dental insurance) was crisis-worthy.

However, I was brave, paid the bill in full, sat in the chair for hours and endured it.

Since then, I’ve made a true effort to care for my teeth so that I never have to go through it again. I bought a new electric toothbrush, the good toothpaste, loads of various flosses, and even some fancy toothpicks.

In the last 6 months since my work and cleaning, I have maaaybe missed 5 days of flossing. I’ve snapped myself out of a drunken stupor long enough to floss and rinse, gotten up from a slumber to brush, etc.

So yeah, I for once was NOT dreading the dentist. I had done my homework and I was mentally prepped to get an A+.

When the lady cleaned my teeth (after a minor argument over who was more popular Khloe or Kim Kardashian?) she told me she thought they were really clean.

YESSS! I thought.

“But…I did see two spots,” she said.

Fuuuuuuck.

So in came the dentist.

“You’re flossing?” he asked.

“Yep, once a day,” I said.

“Well obviously not good enough because there are cavities between your teeth.”

I sat there in awe.

We walked up to the front desk so I could pay my cleaning bill—$165.

Then, the desk lady handed me the itemized list of the new work.

Four cavities to fill—$785

I cried.

Yep. Right there on the desk. In front of everyone.

I had set aside a little more than $2,000 for my upcoming moving expenses, and now half of that was going back into my mouth.

I cried because that money has taken me months to save—it comes from all of my odd freelance jobs. I always set it aside for travel or wedding gifts or an occasional splurge on a night out…and now, I was going to eat it. Literally.

I feel like I’m always scraping by. I already don’t go out much, hardly ever eat out, I haven’t shopped for clothes in nearly a year. How much more can I cut back before I’m just completely miserable?

“When do you want to make the appointment for the work?” the lady asked me, smile plastered on her face.

My dentist charges interest on his payment plans, so I needed to pay the money in full (I live debt free, folks!).

“How soon do I need to have it done?” I asked, through tears.

“Well you don’t want it to get worse.”

The worse the cavity, the more expensive it is.

“Okay…” I said.

“Next week?” she asked.

“No, it’s the money…” I sniffled.

I agreed on a morning in two weeks. I’m dreading giving up about 10 articles worth of work on something I never expected. I feel like my hard work of keeping my teeth clean was a complete waste.

I know that I should just be happy I have the money at all to take care of myself, but damn. I’d like to have a little fun once in awhile!

I am still contemplating moving now, as I don’t know if it’s the right decision to make financially. I need money to make a deposit, pay for my cat’s deposit, movers, etc.

I don’t want to be stupid about my funds.

I’m going to have to sit down with my checkbook and try my best to figure it all out…and then I’m going to have to eat rice and beans for the next three months.

FML.

Any budget tips? Send them my way!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Fueling the fire.

  1. So sorry to hear about your teeth and upcoming bill. =(

    Money sucks. I ended up getting a roommate so I wouldn’t have to worry about budgeting.

    Good luck!

  2. I’ve had a lifetime of painful and expensive dental issues. I finally told the dentist to pull all my teeth out but he convinced me I wouldn’t be happy with that result either.

  3. Trashy says:

    I haven’t been to the dentist in FAR too long, but part of me keeps putting it off because I fear the worst.

    The last time I went, I had a cavity, the crazy french-canadienne dentist woman drilled my tooth, held up a mirror, and with my mouth pried open by those crazy metal lip-spreaders, made me look in my mouth, and said:

    “THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU DON’T FLOSS!!!”

    Hang in there! It’ll all work out!

Leave a Reply

