Extra Extra Read All About It: Gizzy’s going to be famous!!

Well my weekend was a bust, I did nothing, and to overcompensate for doing absolutely nothing I worked out too much and pulled all of the muscles between my belly button and my vagina.  Literally, I thought I was passing kidney stones when the soreness started to set in.  Because that’s what happens when you pull muscles on the top part of your vagina that you didn’t know existed, it feels like you’re going to pee out rocks.  Not just any rocks, those big gray driveway rocks.  Bastards!

I sat on the toilet for most of my Saturday evening, waiting to give birth to driveway rocks while simultaneously googling other diseases that would make everything from my belly button to my vagina hurt.  They pretty much all said the same thing, either I was dying or I pulled some muscles.  

So I tried P90X this weekend….it’s just good that I’m not sexually active because even still today I am walking funny.  People at work probably think I took it up the butt this weekend or something. 

Also while I was laid up in bed I checked my new favorite website that tells me when and where tv shows and movies will be filming in my city.  Pretty sa-weet, right?  While on the website I noticed a casting call section so I clicked on it and there was a casting call listed from a week prior for a new tv show set to premiere this fall.  The open call was for extras in some bar scenes.  AND they were going to pay the extras.  UM, sign me up! 

Too bad it was a week ago and I missed it.  But, I am going to start checking this website every day because I’m sure there will be more.  And damnit, I’m going to be an extra in a tv show!

We all know I’m a big fame whore that thinks Lucky and I are destined to marry celebrities and that’s why we don’t fit in with anyone.  Well! I’m not going to meet celebrities sitting on my caboose not being an extra in a new tv show.  So why not try, right?  Plus I am still on my trying to meet people without alcohol being involved kick, and so far that has yielded no new friends.  So… gotta try new things!  Plus most actors are hot so… I don’t really see a down side in this.

Don’t get me wrong here, the only acting experience I have is when I was Oklahoma (the state, not the musical) in my 6th grade play and all I did was hold up a sign that said “OK” and screamed out OKLAHOMA!!! So the chances of me actually getting picked to be a paid extra are slim to none, but I have high hopes for myself. 

The closest I ever came to making it in show biz was when my mom and my aunt took me to the Price is Right for my 23rd birthday.  They built it up so much in my head being all, “You’re young and cute, they’re going to eat you up… you’re for sure getting called to contestants row!”  I even made a shirt that said, “The Future Mrs. Drew Carey” and wore my glasses that are similar to his.  I thought I was golden.

We went through the interviews told the producers it was my birthday and that we had been up since like 2AM (it was about 1pm when we did our interview) and they still didn’t pick me.  After sleeping on the street in downtown Los Angeles to get seats RIGHT BEHIND contestants row… ON MY BIRTHDAY… they still didn’t pick me.  What. The. Fuck. 

So anyway, my claim to fame is the hour I was on national television sitting behind contestants row on the Price is Right.  I mean, we were on tv the whole time so what more can I ask for? Oh, to be an extra in a TV show? YEP! Doing it.

On another note, I hope all of our East Coast blog buddies survived hurricane Irene this weekend!! Just Married Girl, Simply Solo, Thoughts Appear, Shy Guy, and anyone else I missed…I hope you’re all alive!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Extra Extra Read All About It: Gizzy’s going to be famous!!

  1. Trashy says:

    Oh man, you should totally do it! Most extra work is about as interesting as watching grass grow, but if you get paid DO IT!

    I extra’d once, for a student film..about Bollywood.

    It was a musical about a gay guy and a straight girl who fake being married to get their parents off their asses…I definitely had to learn a dance that involved both screwing in lightbulbs and rotary dialling an old telephone.

    This was obviously a more interesting experience than most, but it was loads of fun and there’s free food.

  2. YES!! I would do it just to get access to crafts service for a day.

    Annd that dance routine sounds pretty hilarious!! If I could only be so lucky haha.

    -G

  3. Trashy says:

    Oh man, Crafty is the best. So many delicious balls of meaaaaaaaaat. And you know…other stuff too…

  4. Dennis Hong says:

    If the career as an extra doesn’t work out, I think you should start writing slogans for exercise companies:

    “P90X: Making you walk like you just had anal sex!”

  5. P90X…Plyo…killed me. I hope you feel better soon!

  6. Matthew says:

    You know, they pay people to fill the seats at tapings of Price is Right too….

    • Well.. Matthew. Back in good ol 2008 they didn’t pay people. The first day we went we didn’t get in because we got there at 630am and they said they were all full. So that’s why we slept on the street the 2nd day. My mom wants to go again next year so I’ll tell her that and maybe they’ll pick us this time because they didn’t already pay us. Damnit, why did you tell me this?!! Haha.
      -G

  7. Matthew says:

    Uhh…2008? I had friends who were getting paid to sit in the crowd back in good ol’ 2007.

Leave a Reply

