The lowly ten percent.

Well WordPress went all Facebook on us and changed shit around, so it took me a good five minutes to figure out how to write this friggin post.

Anyway, I’m not about to be one of those people who complain about change now am I? Nope!

Yesterday was our third staff retreat at the office. Yeah, third, because that’s just how fucked up my coworkers are.

The retreat was held in a new location, and I wasn’t too sure of the area. Before, I asked one of the higher ups about the details—will I be able to park close with my parking pass? Will I know where to go once I get inside the building?

I hate being late and I didn’t want my ignorance of the area to make me late.

So she’s all, “oh yeah you can park wherever and there will be signs directing you where to go.”

Awesome.

Well you probably don’t have to guess what happened next.

Yes, I was able to park right up front. But there were no signs leading me anywhere good, so I wondered around until I found the place. However, I still wasn’t late.

I walk in and am immediately bombarded with Jodi’s annoying, high-pitched voice.

“LUCKY!!! WHERE DID YOU PARK?”

“Right out front.”

“OKAY WELL JUST SO YOU KNOW THAT IS A CONSTRUCTION ZONE, SO YOU’RE PARKING THERE AT YOUR OWN RISK. IF YOU WANT, YOU CAN MOVE IT TO THE OTHER SIDE.”

“No, it’ll be fine.”

“OK WELL ALL OF US PARKED ON THE OTHER SIDE.”

“Well I was told we could park wherever. I was also told there would be signs directing me here and there weren’t any, so thank you.”

She didn’t say anything, and I made my way to the trays of fruit and bagels. I find a table and am in the middle of a conversation with Ashley when Jodi comes back to me.

“YOU KNOW THERE’S A TOASTER OVER THERE FOR YOUR BAGEL.”

“No, thank you.”

“YOU JUST EAT IT RAW.”

“Actually Jodi, I’m almost done with my bagel and I’m in the middle of a conversation here so thank you.”

She walks away and I feel like I’m going to punch a bitch if she doesn’t step off.

The rest of the day wasn’t so bad. We had taken a staff survey a few weeks ago, which was supposed to gauge our engagement at the office. So, the speaker went over the results.

Turns out, 70 percent of the office is either engaged or highly engaged; 15 percent is disengaged; and 10 percent is actively disengaged.

The speaker went on to say that the “disengaged” folks could probably become more engaged with the help of others. However, the 10 percent (which equals out to around 4 people) who are actively disengaged are on their own.

So, the big wig boss gets up and gives a little speech about how those four people have a decision to make—are you going to participate and change? Or are you going to quit?

Anyway, the big wig boss felt so strongly about this, he is letting us leave at noon today, so we can take the weekend and either think about how we are going to change to make the office a better place or come back Monday and tell him that this isn’t the place for us.

Thanks, 10 percent, whoever you are.

Seriously, although you might think I’m one of the four, I’m pretty sure I fit into the elite “disengaged” group. I mean, I do show up to work early everyday, I get my work done, and I go to meetings and crap.

So whatever.

A few weeks ago, I read “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. To make a long story short, it’s a book about a making happiness a priority in your life. Although I’m not going to follow Rubin’s exact plan, the book got me thinking about small things in my life that make me happy that I might have been leaving out these last few years.

One of those things is music. In college, I made an effort to listen to new music and was always purchasing new songs and CDs. Both of my parents are big music lovers and have always told me that people who listen to music are happier.

I think Operation Cheapskate has been a part of my downfall in my music discovery. So on Tuesday, I let go of my check book for a few minutes and bought two albums on iTunes I was really excited over.

1. Gavin DeGraw’s “Sweeter”

2. Tony Bennett’s “Duets II” [featuring Amy Winehouse, Andrea Bocelli, Aretha Franklin, Carrie Underwood, John Mayer, Lady Gaga, Mariah Carey, Michael Buble, Norah Jones, and Queen Latifah]

What’s some recent music you love?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The lowly ten percent.

  1. justmarriedgirl says:

    Music does make me really happy, and I’m not one of those perpetually happy people. I try, but I fail at it all the time. I don’t have any recent new favorites, but I love just getting in the car, turning up the music and singing along. I also love finding something new. I have a major celeb crush on Jack White, so pretty much anything he’s involved with is cool. I’ve been listening to a lot of The Black Keys, too, but they’re not new. I’d like to get my hands on that new Tony Bennett, too. Love him!

  2. Matthew says:

    That’s the second Bennett duet I’ve heard (first one being Gaga), and now I think I should go out and get this album.

    One album I just came across that has about a 50/50 good to bad song ratio is ‘Falling In Reverse’.

    And of course Evanescence is releasing their 3rd album Oct. 11th!

Leave a Reply

