11 weeks and 11 pounds

This week has been a real whirlwind for me, first because of all the unexpected contact with guys from my past over the weekend.  Then, as soon as I got to work yesterday I had a missed voicemail from my stepmom, saying my dad was in the hospital.  She didn’t leave much detail, only saying that he was bitten by a snake twice, he was ok, but would be in the hospital over night.

So I started to freak out and basically got nothing done at work yesterday.  It took me forever to get ahold of them and when I finally did they were just kind of ho hum about it.  Apparently my dad was with my grandpa at his country cabin and my dad was mulling around in a wood pile and when he pulled his hand out and it was gushing blood, swollen, and had 4 fang marks where the blood was coming from.  My grandpa had some kind of venom extraction do-hickey at his cabin so they tried that, but it didn’t work so they took my dad to the hospital where his motor skills were becoming slow and he was having trouble breathing… the works.

He didn’t see what kind of snake bit him, but they could tell from the side effects that it was venomous. He is ok, he gets to go home in the late morning and I still hate snakes.  I mean really… could anything else bad happen with snakes? Oh right, I forgot to mention that over the weekend when Betty was visiting she wanted to make sure the snake was in the cage and  we discovered that in fact it is not and Doogie has yet to inform anyone, but took the liberty of shutting off the heat lamp to save some energy and a few bucks.

So I told Anth that because of what happened to my dad it’s totally justifiable that I murder Doogie’s snake if it’s ever found…. and he told me that I need to reevaluate what is a big deal and what isn’t.  I mean…. my dad being in the hospital is a big deal, fucking asshole.  He claimed that me hating Doogie’s snake wasn’t a big deal because it’s a boa and it can’t do anything to me.  But, the simple fact that I could wake up in the middle of the night to that thing trying to choke me out because Doogie is so careless with it is plenty of reason to be afraid of it and want it dead.  I stand by my opinion – Anth’s an asshole!

Anyway… exactly 11 weeks from today I leave for Hawaii!! And that means I am getting down to the diet crunch time.  I’ve been slack assing on the working out because I’ve been super stressed at work, but I made the decision to make myself work out every day for the next 11 weeks and then after that I can go back to being fat.

So, if anyone wants to join my weight loss crusade I’ve done some research and here’s how it’s going down.  3500 calories = 1 pound.  But, you don’t lose a pound just by cutting 3500 calories out of your diet… it has to be a 3500 calorie deficit.  So you start with your resting (or basal) metabolic rate… I’m going with 1200 calories per day, but here’s a link to find yours in case you aren’t a 26 year old, 120 pound, 5 foot 3, female.

So every day my base calorie intake is 1200 calories, anything over is weight gain and anything under is weight loss.  To lose 1 pound a week I need to either burn 500 calories a day by exercising or only eat 700 calories.  So I’m going to need some ideas from everyone on low calorie foods that I can eat a lot of because only lazy days when I don’t want to work out I’m going to need some tasty ideas!

I ordered this Victoria’s Secret seashell/mermaid bikini

I was pretty disappointed last night when I tried it on and it didn’t look the same on me as it does this girl… so, operation lose a pound a week from now until I leave for Hawaii is in full force.  

Any dieting tips/staying strong advice/words of wisdom anyone has…give it to me!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “11 weeks and 11 pounds

  1. amanalyn says:

    You probably don’t need to lose weight because 120 at 5’3 is a good size! But if you want to lose weight you’ll need to cut out carbs.

    Some alternatives to carbs are quinoa, and whole wheat pasta, ezikieal bread (this can be found in the frozen health food section, you have to keep it frozen and only take out what you need).

    Eat a lot of protein and on a lazy day you can eat tons of green vegetables.

    Good luck!! You’re going to have so much fun in Hawaii!!

    • Yeah I’m ok with my weight, I probably just need to tone up but I’m lazy so I decided cutting calories and running would be easier than doing 500 crunchies a day haha. But thanks for the tips, I’ll add them to my list!!
      -G

  2. So I don’t want to join you in the weight loss, but can I join you in Hawaii?

    I’m glad your dad’ s going to be ok.

  3. Here are some tips that work for me…
    1. For your workouts, try to do both cardio and weight training in the same session. And do the weight training first. Something about burning off the easy stuff, so that your cardio really burns off something or other.
    2. Try to do morning workouts. Your metabolism will be raised for the rest of the day. If you work out later in the day (especially at night), you’ll have less time at the revved up rate, since your metabolism will slow when you go to sleep.
    3. Unless you’re eating a lot of ridiculous calorie bombs like whole jars of marshmallow or spoonfuls of lard, don’t cut out any foods (especially ones you really like) completely. Instead, just cut down on how much of it you eat. If you cut out something completely, you end up really craving it and then you’ll break down and gorge on it and overeat. But if you eat less amounts of he stuff you like, you still satisfy your cravings.
    4. If you don’t already, eat a good breakfast everyday. Oatmeal or whole grain stuff is really good.
    5. Eat good, small snacks between meals to keep your motor running in a healthy way. Almonds, walnuts, fruits, etc.

    good luck,
    peter

  4. justmarriedgirl says:

    Before my wedding, I did P90x and Slimfast. It was hard, but it was also totally worth it. Not only did I lose the weight, but I think I felt better than I’ve ever felt in my life. If I had the time, I’d do it again just for the energy and morale boost!

Leave a Reply

