News! News! I have big news!

Ok so my news isn’t that big.  Ok it is, to me.  Remember a few weeks ago when I was bitching and moaning about my boring going no where accounting job and how I wanted to do something cool in the entertainment industry so I registered with a bunch of casting company’s?! WELL!!! After expressing interest in a few different commercials/movies and hearing nothing in return, I finally got cast in something!

That’s the exciting part, the not so exciting part (for Just Married Girl at least, & OMG there’s an episode of Friends on right now about Sweater Vests – it IS a sign) is that I don’t know if I’ll be able to do the Sweater Vest hang out tonight.  I’m getting ahead of myself… 

So I’m sitting at work screening calls from one of the surgeon’s I work for because someone (not me) may have lost $80,000 of her “spending” money by being a ‘tard.  Not lost as in dropped it on the street, lost it as in gave it to another institution by accident and now they’re saying they’re not giving it back (or that “it would be virtually impossible to give the money back”) so anyway, she’s all up my ass trying to get me to help her fix it because the team she assembled to do these things for her are idiots (obvi) so I contacted everyone I could 10 times told them the situation and was sitting pretty waiting for a response telling me it had been magically fixed while she called me every 5 minutes to see if there was an update when my cell phone started blowing up… it was an email from a casting agency!

The email basically said I had been cast as a model for a photo shoot on Saturday.  We’d be modeling local designers dresses pretending we’re at a party and the photos will be used as promotions for the designers and the studio.  They dress us, do our hair and makeup, and we get copies of the pictures and a some monaayy to go along with it.  I’m not going to quit my day job over it, but I’m pretty freaking excited!!!

When I told Anth about it he made fun of me, go figure.  Saying if I see any Victoria’s Secret models to give them his number.  HA! Then asked if he could come, then I told him about how the Brit wouldn’t stop texting me and his response was, “Is it because you told him you’re a model now?”  But, just for ANTH’s information… at this time last year my only job was modeling and it (barely) paid the bills, so Victoria’s Secret model that!  He’s obviously upset because I’m not coming to watch his marathon Saturday morning.  Whatever.

So anyway, my call time isn’t until Saturday at 2pm but I feel like I have to do a lot before I go.  Like I feel like I need to go get a spray tan so I don’t look dead, and work out for 5 hours before I go to the shoot so I look skinny.   And get a mani/pedi in case my hands or feet are in the shot.  What I wouldn’t give to be 22 again…. back then I always felt good about how I looked and I would’ve rolled out of bed after a night of partying and showed up at the shoot.  Now?  I’m canceling all my plans for the 4 days surrounding the shoot so I can make sure everything is perfect.  I don’t know, I guess my livelihood is at stake so I’m freaking out about it.  But, I haven’t told Dina that I won’t be able to make it out yet tonight because I’m hoping they’ll switch it to Saturday night and I can go out all glammed up from the photo shoot and find a husband/rekindle my half romance with Sweater Vest.  We’ll see how it goes…

Just to give everyone a Lucky update: She said the smudging went well and her fat cat loves the new apartment!  I hope it’s making all her dreams come true!

Ok… where’s cynical Gizzy? 1 good thing happened and all my cynical world hating aspirations went out the door.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “News! News! I have big news!

  1. G,

    Congrats! I don’t think you need to worry so much about getting everything perfect. They obviously already like the way you look. And between all the hair/make-up, lighting, professional camera work, and Photoshopphing, you’ll look perfect regardless of what you do beforehand.

    hope the craft service table is good,
    peter

  2. justmarriedgirl says:

    So exciting! I totally get why you want to postpone on SV. I’d probably do the same. But, he is living in the Big City now, right? If so, make concrete plans to reschedule so he knows you’re not giving him the snub. Maybe Sat night when you’re all tanned, pedicured and fab!!

    Good luck.

    Cannot wait to hear about the shoot!!!

  3. Matthew says:

    Come on Gizzy, if you’ve done modeling before you should know that you don’t change your appearance (like with a tan) after you book a gig. They want you based on how you looked from your submission.

    Congrats on getting the job. Those type of jobs certainly aren’t “quit your day job” deals but for the pay/time worked ratio it’s very good $$$.

Leave a Reply

