Don’t wanna get too close.

Last week, you all assured me that Writer Guy was indeed in it to ask me on a date, not just to edit his book.

I think you were right. But like all nice things, it’s getting pretty shitty. Or just plain weird.

Sunday night, he sent me a text asking how my day was.

That’s nice, right? But I see a red flag. I don’t want to get into any habit of TEXTING a guy. If he’s into me, curious about my day, then call.

He later told me that he spent his evening going to dinner for his birthday. Uh huh, his BIRTHDAY.

I ignored that.

Last Tuesday night, I was at the mall around 8 pm, interviewing people for a freelance article. I was tired. I get a text from him: “Ever feel like you just need attention?”

Seriously?

I replied saying no.

He said something about how he thinks everyone needs it.

Don’t get me wrong here, I was flattered this guy approached me over lunch weeks ago. He’s hot. And rarely do you meet a hot writer, right? But I’m just not getting involved with the texting bullshit or the games.

He will send me messages like, “just edited so many pictures. I need a drink.”

Well then fucking pour yourself one.

Maybe you think I’m reading too much into it, but I assume he wanted me to reply, YEAH ME TOO LET’S GO GET ONE!!!!!!!!!

I am tired of doing all the work. If a guy is into me, can’t he properly call and arrange something?

Saturday night, he sends me “Hey Lucky, I hope you’re having a fun night!” Umm…what the fuck?

Last week, I was mulling over two things he’s told me—1. that he’s into yoga, and 2. he doesn’t have much furniture or a TV at his apartment.

As you know, I’m a bit obsessed with Steve Ward and I’m taking his advice on Tough Love pretty seriously. A few episodes ago, he talked about deal breakers.

While I’ve never realized it, one of my deal breakers is a feminine guy. I’m sorry, but the yoga thing bugs me. While he’s going to yoga, I’m at boxing beating the shit out of a 150-pound bag.

I want a manly man.

And then the furniture/TV thing. He’s like…in his 30s. Really, no furniture? I have always said that I want to date someone who brings just as much to the table as I do. This dude doesn’t even HAVE a table!

So, if we assume he’s not into me enough to set up an actual date…we are back to business. And that business is the book of his that I’m supposed to read.

The single chapter that he gave me is still sitting on my desk at home waiting to be read. Usually, I would get paid for this. And I don’t want to sound stuck up, but I’m not getting paid here. I’m not even getting a free breakfast…so what gives?

I’m thinking of reading the chapter, scanning in my edits and sending him an email to avoid another casual meeting. Is that too rude?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Don’t wanna get too close.

  1. I hate conversation texts. I like texts that are like “I was thinking of you,” or “Can’t wait to see you later!” Anything that requires more than a few seconds of typing from me means he should have called.

    I would scan in the chapter, too.

  2. If you are not interested, do the scan. LOL @ the yoga thing. I am not sure how I feel about the Yoga thing yet. I do not know many men that even go.

  3. justmarriedgirl says:

    No, it’s not rude. It’s sensible. You’re right that if he wants a proper date, he should call you. The deal breakers aren’t so terrible, but the texting is lame.

  4. justmarriedgirl says:

    Now that it’s confirmed that he’s egotistical, everything makes sense. His behavior, his stupid texts, his wanting to read his book out of the blue. He thinks he’s awesome. I hate to say it, but this is why I never dated writers. The ones I met were always assholes. (This isn’t a rule, just my experience.) Remember when Carrie dated Ron Livingston’s character (forget his name) on Sex and the City? Bleh.

Leave a Reply

