December snowflakes.

Ah, anyone else still recovering from a gloriously stuffed Thanksgiving break?

I hung out with Buttons, Gizzy and co until late Monday night and flew back to this shit hole around midnight. Needless to say, I was tired and just ready to hop in my own bed…but I was dreading work on Tuesday.

Naturally, it was everyone’s duty on the first flight to piss me off. I kid you not the people behind me were singing. SINGING. Not songs I like, or Christmas Carols, or anything fun—just Christian/gospel music.

How is this okay?

I was attempting to read, which was difficult when I had Jesus songs trickling into my ear.

Geez, I sound like the Grinch. Which somehow brings me to my next topic—the Christmas season.

Last year, I felt like I simply went through the motions of Christmas, without really getting in the spirit. I think I was in the dumps over some loser guys, and it wasn’t until Christmas eve when I baked a delicious apple-cranberry pie that I really got in the spirit.

NOT THIS YEAR!

This year I am making it my mission to have the jolliest holiday you’ve ever seen. To get myself in the spirit, I have planned activities all month long; starting last night.

Last night, I went to my alma mater to watch them light their christmas tree. I did this every year as a student, and loved it, but haven’t done it in the 4 years since I graduated.

So after work, I marched…ok I drove…my happy ass to campus. This event starts with singing and dancing from local groups around campus, and even Santa himself reads The Night Before Christmas. Then, we walk as a giant group outside to the tree…where there was hot chocolate and cookies…and have a countdown for the lighting.

And you know what? It was fun!

Here are some of the other events I have planned for December:

  • Watch the lighting of the tree at Rockefeller Plaza (on TV), while I put up my own tree (TONIGHT)!
  • Participate in the office Secret Santa gift exchange
  • Write and mail Christmas cards to friends and family
  • Make a holiday CD for my car
  • Attend the office holiday brunch
  • Participate in Murder Mystery dinner
  • Bake dozens of peppermint cookies for my coworkers, friends, and family
  • Bake a special something to eat Christmas morning
  • Donate to the local food bank

Sound fun, or am I crazy? The cards and the decorating are things I do every year, but most of the other stuff, I don’t. And so far, I’m looking forward to it. I’ve even gotten a few presents and wrapped them already!

So tonight, I’ll be watching them light the big tree on television, while I put up and decorate my small one…and hang a wreath on my front door. Will anyone else be watching the show?

While I was visiting for Thanksgiving, I got an unexpected gift from Buttons and her mom: an advent calendar! It’s a tiny dresser with 25 drawers that they filled with fun stuff…starting December 1st, I’ll have a small gift to open every day! How is that to help me get in the holiday spirit?

I know the holidays can be a really happy time, but I also know it’s really easy to get down around Christmas, too. But this year, I’m kicking it into high gear! What are you doing to make this holiday season a fun one?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

