New year, new number

I personally love the holidays.  I love everything about them, the lights, the music, the brisk air, the food, the togetherness, but the one thing that I HATE about the holidays is the mass texting/warm wishes from people you’d rather not hear from and only hear from around the holidays.  Lucky and I rant about this every year when we get a bunch of “Happy Thanksgiving!!” “Merry Christmas!!” texts from people we haven’t talked to in months. 

 

My theory on the whole mass text thing is that there is one person the sender wants to get a reply from, just to have a way to spark up the conversation.  I’ve also noticed that when people are in a googley eyed can’t get enough of each other relationships they don’t send them.  For example, I can think of 2 guys that would send out mass Thanksgiving texts to all their friends each year.  And this year, they’re both in serious relationships and didn’t send out jack.  Which is fine by me, 1 less text for my quota.  When I hit 2000 texts in 1 month I start to feel like a loser.  Thank god it doesn’t count BBM messages or Lucky and I would be in trouble. 

Normally, most of the mass texts come in between 9am and 1pm on the holiday.  This Thanksgiving just when I thought I was in the clear because it was 1:30 and I hadn’t received anything, I got a text from Snoop-Linus, “Happy Thanksgiving!!! Hope all is well!!” Ugh!

 

Now, I don’t know if this was a mass text or not, but either way it pissed me off.  Was this or was this not the guy who 2 weeks prior I had told to leave me alone forever? Oh wait, I forgot to tell you guys about that… 

So early/mid November, as per usual Snoop-Linus sent me a bunch of sob-story depressing long texts about how his life will never be the same without me in it, and how he knows how bad he messed up (mind you, we have been broken up for a solid 18 months), and if I could only just hear him out and give him a chance he’d show me how much he had changed, and that he is a better person, yada, yada, yada.  My only reply, “It is good that you are trying to change your life for the better, you need to.  But as I have said before, I will not ever marry someone who has cheated on me, so there is no point in us ever talking again.  I appreciate your understanding.”  Of course he came back with all this hoohah about how people change and he is a different person blah blah blah.  Which, nearly 3 years after meeting the guy I have heard that line about 50 million times and know it’s a pile of bullshit.  Plus, I don’t want to be with someone who had to change who they were to be with me, I want to be with someone that is a good person from the start.  How hard is that to understand?

 

Anyway, he finally said that he understood and wouldn’t bother me anymore, but if I ever wanted to talk he was just a phone call away.  The next day I saw something on his friends facebook about how they’d all be doing lots of drugs in the coming weekend, then they posted pictures of him with a bunch of whorey girls that can’t spell.  Has not changed.  People don’t change.  End. Of. Story. 

So now you can see why the Thanksgiving text pissed me off.  2 weeks before the guy was ready to kill himself because I wouldn’t hear any more excuses for his pathetic life, now he’s got a slore on each arm and wishes me well.  How hard is it to just leave me alone, seriously?  I know I’m way cool, but really, I’m a completely different person from when we dated – I’m an adult! With responsibilities, and a job, and goddamnit I deserve A MAN – not a drug induced comatose loser.

 

So I didn’t reply to the text and later that night, he sent another one, “How was your day?” As much as I don’t want to do it, I think it’s time to change my number.  I’ve already blocked the kid from facebook and gotten a new email address, so this is the last step to free myself of Snoop-Linus.  It will be hard to do, I’ve had my number since I was 16 and I’m about as attached to a phone number as you can be without it being weird.  2012 is a new year and a fresh start and by god it’s mine and Lucky’s year to make things happen, so if a new phone number is what it will take for my life to be awesome, then a new phone number I will get!!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “New year, new number

  1. Why don’t they ever give up? I broke up with my ex 4 years ago, but the last time he texted me was about 6 months ago. I just ignored him, so I think he thinks I changed my number.

    Before you change your number, maybe you could look into blocking his number? My coworker does that all the time with her on-again-off again boyfriend.

  2. Go for it! I changed mine, and this year i got zero thanksgiving texts! It was nice!

    -L

Leave a Reply

