Get motivated, or you’re going to hell.

it’s seriously only Tuesday? I woke up this morning, realized it was Tuesday at about 3 am, went back to sleep, and when my alarm went off at 6:30, I was CERTAIN it was at least Wednesday.

Damn.

But there is one good thing about today: “A Michael Buble Christmas” on NBC. Yep, tonight. Be there.

Right now, I could use just about anything to cheer me up. Yesterday was so awful, I felt disgusting, dirty, and downright sick after what happened.

Oh, what happened?

A few weeks ago, my office sent around an email telling us about this seminar coming to town that included all of these big name speakers. We’re talking NFL players, business owners, famous investors, etc. One of the big bosses had been before and she swore up and down it was fabulous!

I was pretty excited—I just LOVE hearing people speak, especially if they’re sharing just how they got their success. And so, I was really looking forward to it.

Well, Monday morning came, and I got stuck in traffic, which is never good—I hate being late.

But I found a shortcut and was less than 10 minutes late, so all was alright.

Once I got inside, I had only missed the introduction to the first speaker. Luckily, he wasn’t the one I really wanted to see. But I listened anyway.

And I noticed things were getting a little political. As in, conservative republican. But, I chalked it up to the election being less than a year away, and left it at that.

But the next two speakers were equally, if not more, republican than the last. I was starting to get offended.

I texted my boss, who was on the other side of the arena, saying that if I heard one more republican pile of horseshit, then I was out of there. She told me to try and look past it.

Well, whatever. Then they announced that the owner/coordinator who put this whole thing on was going to speak. Meh, okay.

So, onto the stage walks this over-processed, blonde woman in clear stripper heels. She kicks things off by saying how blessed she is to have a job like this where she gets to work with so many successful people and she just loves motivating others…yeah, yeah, yeah.

But then, she says she grew up in a rough neighborhood. So rough, in fact, that she didn’t believe in Santa because the idea of a white man comin’ into the house at night was just crazy—this was all said in ebonics.

And then, she said she dropped out of school in 8th grade and became an addict. If you could smoke it, pop it, snort it, shoot it, drink it—she did it (her words, not mine). And she proceeded to tell us that there is a God because that’s the only thing that saved her and God bless the USA.

Ummm yeah.

Let me set the record straight here. I’ve never done a single drug in my life. But, I have read many a memoir about addiction and people who have overcome those addictions. And I think it’s great.

But for this woman to tell me that she was addicted to everything under the sun and all it took was a prayer to unleash her from the chains of addiction is a load of horseshit.

She said she got her GED, her college degree, a masters, and was now working on her PhD.

“Can you believe it? I went from LSD to PhD,” she said.

No, I can’t and I don’t believe it.

She went on to talk about accepting Jesus into your life, and accepting others, too. In fact, she said if you’re a white person that hates black people because they are black, you’re an idiot. If you’re white and you hate mexicans, you’re el stupide. And if you’re black, and you hate white then you’re going to hell.

Yep! I literally had to pick my jaw up off the floor and I ran like hell to my car.

Only good thing? I laid on my couch for two hours when I should’ve been at work.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Get motivated, or you’re going to hell.

  1. Trashy says:

    That whole thing literally sounds like my nightmare.

    Pushing religion and politics on people is as offensive to me as gay marriage is to the Christian Church. You believe whatever you want, you vote for whoever you want, but leave me the hell out of it.

    Sorry to hear you had to sit through all that!

    -T

  2. Trashy says:

    Also Michael Buble is the cheese to my cracker. I love that man.

    -T

Leave a Reply

