Making the move

Since last week when I decided to give High School Crush the hypothetical ball and let him make the moves, I’ve felt uneasy about it.  Yeah, talking to him the past month has been awesome and was totally unexpected, but I know that if I don’t do something drastic to keep it going – it will really be over.  Sure, I could stick it out until next Christmas when I’ll probably run into him again. Then hope that next winter we follow the same pattern and actually take the next step of going on an actual date.  Or… I can do something about it now, risk him rejecting me, not following through with the plans, or flat out telling me that I’m a big fat loser that is still stuck in high school.  Or he could say yes and we could get married.  The possibilities are endless really.

But, before I could really put myself out there, I needed a little reassurance.  You know, I had to make sure I had all my chickens(?) ducks(?) poultry in a row.  I needed to get into a man’s state of mind to see if it was worth it.  I needed to ask Anth for advice.  So I did.  I was pleasantly surprised that his advice actually made me feel better about the situation, like HSC actually does like me and it’s not all just a ruse because he’s a nice guy.

So, I filled Anth in on all the gritty details. He came back at me saying that it seemed like if HSC and I didn’t live so far apart things would be progressing more than they are.  He reassured me by saying that because we live so far apart HSC definitely would not be wasting his time talking to me if he wasn’t interested, because there would be no point.  So I wanted to know why he wouldn’t ask me to hang out in the tri-state area and included that I didn’t think him suggesting we plan a trip to Vegas could be counted because it would never happen.   Anth shushed me and said that a guy suggesting taking a trip together is and I quote, “A big fucking deal” – well whatever, not if it never happens. 

Anyway, to make a long conversation that went round and round short, Anth suggested that I be straightforward and flat out tell him I want to hang out, because “Guys are stupid and don’t think about that stuff.”  He said him coming here or me going there for a weekend would be weird and add a lot of pressure as a second hangout (I agree), but that I needed to tell him I was serious in wanting to meet up in the city between both of us where all of our friends live and pick a weekend and do it.  So then I filled Lucky in on Anth’s advice, and she concurs. 

Last night I was trying to think of ways I could ease into saying all this to him without sounding like a desperate freak.  I’m not usually one to make the first move, but at least if I make an attempt to make plans with him I can say I tried.  THEN to make the situation better, I went to The Frisky website (a site Lucky has turned me onto… amazeballs) and found THIS.  If I didn’t know better, I would say I wrote that myself and all the signs are there.  My situation isn’t exactly like Ami’s, but it’s pretty effing close and by god, if she can do it, SO CAN I! (I guess I’m going to try and make being empowered by perfect strangers cool in 2012 too.)

I was a little put off by the comments readers left her saying she was making a mistake by making the first move, but what do they know? I can’t help but be excited for her because the guy said yes.  I mean, whatever, maybe it won’t work out in the end, but these people were acting like she proposed to a perfect stranger.  She asked him on 1 date and in no way said that she was going to wear the pants and ask him on a second date – I assume that if they go out and have a good time the guy will take the reins from there.  So errybody needs to chillax! 

Tonight I plan to start up the conversation with HSC again (we haven’t talked since last weekend) and (hopefully) get some plans underway.  Any suggestions for the type of liquid courage I should use to help push me along are appreciated and welcomed. 

In other news, our blogger friend Catherine over at SimplySolo has a contest underway to win A PAIR OF MANOLO BLAHNIKS, AN IPAD 2, or A WINE PARTY FOR 20 FROM RIOJA WINES.  Don’t ask me how she does it, because I don’t know.  But it’s freaking awesome and I am tres jealous that she gets to have cool contests like that.  Anyway, go HERE, check out her bloggy and enter her freaking awesome contest the deadline is January 14th – so hurry it up already!  That is all.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Making the move

  1. justmarriedgirl says:

    Good for you, Gizzy! I agree w Anthony and Lucky. You are making a move that needs to be made. If he says yes, amazing. If he says no, it hurts, and then you move on. In my experience, the easiest, least-complicated, most drama-free relationships are the keepers. If it’s going to work, it’s going to work bc you both dig each other. It matters not who made the first move.

    Good luck! Keep us posted!

    • G-
      You’re so right!! He’s a no drama laid back guy which is not what I’m used to, so I think that’s why I’m freaking out, but I think it’s a good thing! I will definitely keep you posted, thanks for the advice as always 🙂
      -Gizzy

  2. Can’t wait to hear how it goes! Good luck!

  3. […] you may or may not recall, a few weeks ago I was getting the crowd amped up for me to make a move on High School Crush.  I had it all planned out, I was going to text him to see what he was doing over the weekend and […]

Leave a Reply

