I’m a word-nerd, so what?

For Christmas, my dad got me a $50 gift card to Barnes & Noble. Pretty awesome considering I have a long wish list of books this year.

I’ve always been really conservative about gift cards. Even though they are free money, I always wait until the perfect time to use them, and I want to spend them very wisely.

So, I took my card to the nearest Barnes & Noble and searched the bargain bins. I saw a few books that looked good, but nothing worth buying. I then perused the racks, where I saw lots of great books, but I’d really only be able to buy two with my card. It wasn’t good enough.

Last week, I decided to look on Barnes & Noble’s website to see if I could find any good deals. After searching for awhile, I started adding books to my cart. I had stumbled upon their section of bargain books, specifically the ones that were 87% off. Once I started adding things to my cart, it said I could get free shipping after $25. So I kept adding.

I noticed that while the website had tons of great books that were really great prices (hard backs for $2.99), the website made them difficult to find. Even though you could find them listed in the bargain pages, once you enlarged the product to read the description, you couldn’t go back to where you were in the bargain area. So every time, I would search through again.

I tried another trick. As I found books I liked, I wrote down the titles and kept looking. However, when I went to search the site for the titles, only the full price books would appear, when in fact it had been on sale.

So, after a good two hours, I had a cart of nine, yes 9, hardback books, for $28, which means I got free shipping and I still have money left on my gift card.

I was so excited I had to tell the first person I saw, and they thought I was a bit of a freak, but it didn’t dampen my spirits. I’ve never purchased that many books at once and it’s definitely the biggest bargain.

My loot just arrived this week and I squealed with delight as I stacked them on my dining room table in awe. Want to know what I got? I hope so:

Cleaving: A Story of Marriage, Meat, and Obsession by Julie Powell

Gunn’s Golden Rules: Life’s Little Lessons for Making it Work by Tim Gunn

Audition: A Memoir by Barbara Walters

The Trump Card: Playing to Win in Work and Life by Ivanka Trump

The Naked Truth: The Real Story Behind the Real Housewife of New Jersey by Danielle Staub

Resilience: Reflections on the Burdens and Gifts of Facing Life’s Adversities by Elizabeth Edwards

Poor Little Bitch Girl by Jackie Collins

The Sound of No Hands Clapping: A Memoir by Toby Young

The Bag Lady Papers: The Priceless Experience of Losing it All by Alexandra Penney

 

I’ll be reading this weekend…what about you?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I’m a word-nerd, so what?

  1. 9 hardback books?! Nicely done!

  2. justmarriedgirl says:

    Great job! I never have time to read anymore, so I listen to audio books (a new obsession). I am in the middle of Freedom by Jonathan Franzen, and I am hating it! Why do I continue? Because I’m on CD ten of nineteen (nineteen!!!), and I’m determined to see it through. I’m also listening to Bossypants by Tina Fey, and I love it!

    Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

