Q & A with Just Married Girl part II.

Here it is, part II of our Q & A with Just Married Girl!

When you were our age, and had the same thoughts as us, that you’d never get married, have kids, etc… how did you keep yourself positive and available to new prospects?
 
I don’t think I was positive about it, and that is something that disappoints me. I was single for a very long time, and then all of a sudden, I was dating Mike, and then I was married, and then I had a baby. I wish I could have realized that it would happen for me eventually so I could have just relished that time in my life a bit more. In your twenties, your skin is great, your hair is shiny, your energy levels are high, you can wear whatever you like, you can stay out all night and still make it to work unscathed, you have the whole world ahead of you; you might as well take advantage of it while you’re looking great and are free to do whatever you’d like.
What are you going to tell Jude about dating and women when he gets older and enters into the dating world?
 
I have thought about this a lot, and I think I’ll need more time to come up with a real answer. Above all things, I want him to be happy. But, I would hope that he doesn’t get too serious too young. I want him to have experiences. I want him to see the world and to be educated and  comfortable with who he is and what he might like in this world before linking up with someone else. But, I also don’t want him to be a commitment-phobe. I guess one of the biggest things I’d
try to impress upon him is that he should treat all people with respect. There’s this lyric in an Editor’s song that says, “People are fragile things…Be careful what you put them through,” and I think that’s good life advice. It’s important to be genuine and to do the things you say you’re going to do, but to also be empathetic and compassionate. I want him to protect his heart but not in a way that inflicts undue pain and suffering on others.
What are some things you miss about being single?
 
I miss the freedom to do whatever I liked whenever I wanted to do it. Mike never holds me back, but now that I’m a mom, I do miss having an open schedule, even if it means just coordinating a hair appointment or lunch/dinner with friends. I also miss not having to worry about dinner or laundry or a strict cleaning schedule. Dirty clothes on the floor? Crumbs all over the counter? Finding clutter and paperwork all over the place? These things are more annoying than terrible, but I certainly didn’t have to contend with another person’s mess during my single days. That was nice.
What are some deal breakers you had when you were dating?
Lying, cheating, drug/alcohol addiction, misogyny, snobbery, egotism: these are just some of my major deal breakers. I can’t stand someone who is mean spirited or egomaniacal about as much as I loathe someone who is a liar or a cheat. You can help a bad dresser, but you’ll never change someone who is lacking in a moral compass. Also, if they hate animals or are cruel to them in any way, that’s a problem.
Does Mike fit the profile of the person you thought you’d end up with? Explain why or why not. 
Yes. Now that we’re married, I am even more sure of this. He is has many differences from many of the guys I dated when I was single, but that is probably what makes it work. He is so supportive of me, and he encourages me to do and be what I love. He understands me, and he doesn’t mind my brand of crazy, which is crucial in a significant other. Finally, he’s the best dad and loves spending time with and caring for Jude.
Come back tomorrow for the final questions!
Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Q & A with Just Married Girl part II.

  1. Matthew says:

    “He understands me, and he doesn’t mind my brand of crazy, which is crucial in a significant other.”

    Best. Quote. Ever.

Leave a Reply

