Negative on the 2nd date.

Remember that awesome-sauce dream date that I went on 2 weeks ago?

Hrmm…yeah, it sort of ended like that 80’s song, “Shattered Dreams.”

Right after our date, D was texting me some, just the typical “How was your day”-type stuff and you might recall last week I was a little confused when he didn’t make plans for a second date. Well, it gets worse.

Wednesday night, he was texting me the usual and I told him I was waiting up for Gizzy’s flight to come in town. He was salty about it, being like “sounds fun.” Um, yeah it fucking is, k bye.

I didn’t talk to him Thursday, but Friday, the storm clouds rolled in.

Around 12:30 at night, he wanted to know what I was up to and said he missed me. Umm…really? I asked him if he was drunk and he said no, “just buzzing.”

I thought that was weird; we’ve been on one date, so I don’t see how you can be missing me. He then said something about hoping to see me soon and I said, well maybe you should ask me on a date.

Then, he said “well you’ve been giving off this vibe that you don’t want to see me so I haven’t been trying.”

Umm, can we smell the manipulation? This did, and still does, piss me off. It’s not like he’s asked me out and I’ve said no, he’s done nothing but text me for two fucking weeks.

So, I said “I don’t mean to give off that vibe, but I’m old fashioned and would like a real date.”

Then, he proceeds to tell me that he’s just streets away from my apartment, so what are the chances of seeing me? I say, zero, that’s inappropriate. He replied, “can’t hate me for trying.”

Excuse me?

I said, I don’t hate you, but I’m not into booty calls.

He replies, “Oh honey, that wasn’t a booty call.”

Um, go fuck yourself.

I was expecting to get some sort of apology text on Saturday and didn’t; instead I got a similar batch of texts on Sunday:

D: Sunday Funday!

D: Ur missing an epic day of celebration

ME: No, I’m not.

D: Miss u

ME: Well maybe if you’d ask me out…

D: Ok then I’m asking you now

ME: Whatever.

D: Hush

D: Come on

D: Don’t you whatever me babe. What are you doing?

D: Wanna come see me?

D: K maybe I’m lost on the subject

D: We are just around the corner if you wanna join me

As you can see, I was annoyed, and didn’t respond to most of his texts. I understand that guys are idiots and they aren’t mid readers but I feel like I made it clear that I want a date, not a booty call, and not a spontaneous night of meeting up with his drunk buddies.

And all of this through text!

It’s just not okay, and now, we’re on the verge of a nasty fight before our second date, which isn’t going to happen because now I don’t even like the guy anymore.

Please use the comments to predict what his next text is going to say.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Negative on the 2nd date.

  1. Why don’t guys understand that texting does not count as putting forth some effort?

  2. He just doesn’t get it. He thinks that asking you to meet up on the spontaneous is a proper date. He is not what you are looking for, so why waste your time?

    You need a guy who will call you early in the week to make real, specific plans and who will then follow through with them (plus no weird drunk text in between). That guy does exist, and you are right to hold out for him.

Leave a Reply

