Weekend happenings.

Not to be cheesy, but I do want to thank you all for the kind words you’ve shared with me this past week. I’m pretty sure I’m just having yet another quarter life crisis (I think I’ve had one every year for the last 7 years) and things are going to turn out just fine. It really helps to know I’m not alone in the way I’m feeling; perhaps it’s just the age we all share.

Anyway, this weekend was sort of eventful. Considering I spend most weekends alone on my couch, anyway. Friday night I went to the gym hoping to flirt a little with one of the trainers. More on this in another post…if it’s ever even worth mentioning.

After my workout, I talked to Gizzy for like 5 hours, remembering the good ole days of high school. Sigh.

Saturday morning, I woke up fairly early and was ready to get lots of work done. I needed groceries. I also needed to clean my apartment. So I scrubbed and mopped, did some laundry, and went grocery shopping. Then, I took a break and watched Juno on television. I forgot just how sad that movie is.

I had plans to meet Boots downstairs around 5:30, because there was a local concert going on. I wasn’t sure how busy the restaurants would be, and I wanted to get us a good seat on the patio, so I decided to go down early, around 5:10 or so.

When I walked by the first patio, who do I see, but Ben & Nicole? Awesome. At first, my heart jumped in fear. But, I was able to keep my cool, and keep walking, and then called Gizzy for a quick vent. They did see me, so I was on edge for a little while, but I got a seat at the next restaurant, got a beer, and it was fine.

Boots showed up, and Eddy texted me saying he was going to meet us, also.

We all sat and drank, listening to music, talking, it was really nice. Around 8, Boots bolted and Eddy and I stayed for another round.

I don’t think I’ve said much about Eddy, but in a nutshell, we work together, I once had a crush on him, but he’s had a girlfriend for years, and they recently broke up. For whatever reason, he’s been wanting to hang out lately, and I’m cool with it, but I’m also wary. I’m not really interested and I am not up for any rebound action.

We were trying to figure out what to do, and I said we could grab some sixers and sit on the roof. He said he’d like that, so we did. In fact, we each drank a six-pack on top of the three brews we had on the patio, and ended up playing catch phrase until 3 am.

I could hardly keep my eyes open and was trying to politely push him into the elevator. I gave him a hug goodbye, which lingered a little too long. And then, he says, “Lucky….can I be honest with you for a second?”

Here we go, right?

“Sure, go ‘head,” I said.

“Oh man, now I’m on the spot… but I feel an attraction toward you and I really want to kiss you… but I know I just got out of a relationship and I don’t even know what I want yet … I just wanted to put it out there.”

“Yeah…you know I was attracted to you, but I’m with you on the recent breakup. I don’t want to be a rebound, and don’t want anything to move too fast, so …just wait and see.”

He gave me another hug, and left.

I went to sleep and when I woke up, I felt sort of bad about rejecting him. But on the same token, it would have been a drunken thing, and we do work together, so that would have been awkward. I have been wishing for some type of relationship lately, but I don’t want it to be with just anyone. It’s gotta be right.

I did have a nasty hangover, but had to force myself to get some actual work done, as I’m pitching an ad TWICE today for two different groups of people. Wish me luck.

And, just as I was fixing dinner last night, I got a text from none-other than Clay: “How have you been?” I didn’t reply, but shit, when it rains it pours.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

