2012 roundup.

It’s hard to believe that August of 2012 is already coming to a close…and soon, there will only be three months left in this year! Where has it gone?

Someone at work said to me that 2012 had been a really rough year for them, and it got me thinking. I couldn’t sit down and tell you all of the things that have happened to me this year.

Some things that I can recall right away are really great things, and some are terrible things. I do know, though, that I came into this year knowing that it was time for a change.

I’d spent the last 4 years in an abusive relationship, spent many more years in troubled times with my family and sometimes my friends. I set 3 goals for myself this year:

1. Read 29 books.

I am really behind on this goal. Last year I read 28 books, and every year I add one. I am currently halfway through book no. 15 for the year, so I need to get on it. Big time. But it will happen.

2. See a therapist.

I made my first appointment with Lopez just two weeks into January. I was at a new low. Since then, I see him every 2 weeks, and it’s been one of the best decisions in my life. The person I was in January is worlds different from who I am today—in a much better light.

3. Get a physical/checkup

Still working up the courage to get this done, but I will.

Through this year, I’ve learned that you must CHOOSE happiness. And sometimes that takes a lot of work, if not honesty. I know that I’ve made many decisions that have ultimately lead to my unhappiness. But today, I can tell you that happiness doesn’t come from my 9-5 job, therefor I leave as often as possible and go do other things that make me happy, like get a massage. Teaching, freelancing, creating my own empire, makes me happy on a level I can’t explain, so I do that.

Dating doesn’t make me happy, so I don’t do it. Cooking, organizing, writing, and reading? Those are a must in order for me to be happy.

And yeah, I’ve really dealt with a tough hand this year. But what’s the saying? Life is about how you react to things.

I’ve spent most of the last 10 years putting myself second, or third, or last, and that didn’t happen this year. It’s difficult to change, but I know it’s for the better—after all, who gonna check me, boo?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

