Karma owes me.

There is a situation happening right now, readers, that I wish I could tell you more about. Unfortunately, giving away all of the details will reveal my location.

However, I think I can tell you enough to get across the message of my frustration.

For starters, there has been an emergency in the town where I work and live. For most people, in these types of emergencies, they get to hunker down, or go to work, drink, party, whatever, generally live their everyday lives. But since part of my job is working in the Emergency Operations Center of my company, I usually have to work during these situations.

Luckily, these kinds of things don’t happen very often, but when they do, they suck ass, because we are forced to work abnormal hours and through the weekend. So, we were informed of this emergency Sunday night, and I was assigned the day shift, from 7 am until 3 pm, which is really close to my normal work day, so it wasn’t a big deal.

Well, what sucks about working in the new conditions is that you have to work in the same room as everyone, and it’s really loud and hectic and annoying. Anyway, Monday wasn’t a big deal, but Tuesday, I rolled into work and everyone was looking at me like I was a retard.

“Where’s your stuff?” They asked. “Umm… what stuff?” I said.

“Your air mattress and your toothbrush?”

Yep, that’s right, we air expected to sleep in this building for the next 48 hours. Fuck. My. Life.

So, I said, oh no I’m not staying. Then my boss chimed in basically telling me if I wanted to keep my job, I would go home and pack a bag. So here I am, with an air mattress, my laptop, and a stack of Will & Grace DVDs.

I’m not really a religious person, but if you feel like it, pray for me.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Karma owes me.

  1. Matthew says:

    At least you have Karen and Jack to distract you. (How do I remember that???)

Leave a Reply

