Holiday Jams: Best & Worst

For more than a month now, I’ve been listening to Christmas music. I don’t just mean slapping on that amazing *NSYNC Home for the Holidays album here and there (don’t act like you don’t listen), I mean I listen to it all the time. At bare minimum, I listen to it all 8 hours I am at work, and usually in the car.

I know, I’m sick. However, listening to it on the radio has opened my ears to some songs I didn’t even know were out there. Some are good, others are not, but hell, Santa is coming down the chimney tonight, so let’s party.

*LOVE: “Last Christmas” by Wham!*

Taylor Swift, try as she might to recreate this song, just doesn’t get it. Wham! is pure gold. And the video just adds to it (think: mid-80s haircuts, oversized coats, and a log cabin).

*LOVE: “Mistletoe” by Justin Bieber*

Probably doesn’t shock you that this is on my list. A song about kissing the Biebs. Yeah, I’m into it. Call me.

*HATE: “The Christmas Shoes” by Newsong*

Yeah, I get it, the message is sweet, but I just can’t take it.

*LOVE: “Simply Having A Wonderful Christmas Time” by Paul McCartney*

I think my opinion on this one changes every year, but it’s cheery, and catchy. I am into it…this year.

*LOVE: “Same Old Lang Syne” by Dan Fogelberg*

This is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine, but I just cannot help it.

*HATE: “Happy Christmas (War is Over)” by John Lennon*

“So This is Christmas,” whatever you want to call it and whoever sings it (I’m talking to you, Sarah McLachlan), I hate this song with a passion. The kids are annoying. And so is everything else about it.

*HATE: “Feliz Navidad” by Jose Feliciano*

Yeah. Hate it. Hate every version.

*LOVE: “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” by Frank Sinatra*

Not only do I love Frank, but this version also pays during my favorite part in Home Alone (my favorite movie of all year, all time) when the Wet Bandits are arrested and Kevin goes to bed safe on Christmas Eve.

Happy Christmas Eve, y’all!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Holiday Jams: Best & Worst

  1. angeinab85 says:

    What about Blue Christmas?! Worst Christmas song EVER!!!

Leave a Reply

