I’ve been here before.

Well hello there!

I am sitting at my desk, just finished a deadline (with 5 minutes) to spare, while watching a little daytime TV and enjoying the scent of a brand new orange-cranberry candle.

I actually can’t really smell it. Yeah, because I’ve had bronchitis since Saturday. Today is day 2 without a fever, but I still just want to sleep. But I can’t… I still have 2 more deadlines.

And yes, I know, this post should be about my awesome Christmas and all the presents I got…but it’s going to have to wait because I’ve got more pressing matters on my mind.

Remember Webber?

Well yes, he asked me on a date like a week ago. It was a pretty half-assed attempt at asking: he asked via text, saying he wanted to go skating. Sounds sweet? Yeah, until then he suggested that after skating, I make him dinner and we watch a movie at my place.

I told him I didn’t cook for guys on first dates. He persisted and I just never said anything else about it. Truthfully, I hoped this would all just get shoved under the rug. But nothing ever works in my favor now, does it?

Yesterday he sent me a text asking if we were still on for today. I asked him what time? He said he was free all day. I didn’t reply.

Instead, I texted a guy friend saying I was freaking out. I thought it was rude of him to expect me to cook (and clearly clean my house) for a first date. I think a first date should be very little stress for the girl; she should just have to show up.

My friend was no help, saying “Of course he wants you to cook for him. He follows you on Twitter”—regarding the many pictures of my cooking results. Still? That shouldn’t be a first date.

Am I crazy?

What happened to asking a girl out for a simple date? A movie? Coffee?

I am just finding myself right back in my exact same spot and all I want to do is hide.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I’ve been here before.

  1. Gina says:

    Um, no. You don’t have to (a) invite a virtual stranger to your home on a first date or (b) make him DINNER (?!?!?!). It would be expensive and stressful, you have no idea when he might plan on leaving (ever?!), and clearly, he thinks it will lead to some sort of sexual activity.

    No. Way.

    Next!

Leave a Reply

