Back to reality in 2013

Well happy 2013 folks! 2013 started out the same for me as 2012 ended, awesome.  And now, a mere 4 days into the New Year, I’m sad.  Because I’m back at work – BLAH! On a brighter note, everyone is healthy in 2013 so that’s a giant load off.
 
I typically don’t make New Year’s resolutions, and if I do, they are stupid.  One year in college, Lucky and I rang in the New Year by rolling around our lay-uer (actually layer, but pronounced LAYUUEER) playing the SIMS on Playstation and eating God knows what.  I don’t even think we drank, because we are the shit. Anyway, that year as I was stuffing cheese puffs and thin mints into my pie hole, I made the resolution to “Make people want more Gizzy”.  What is that? How do you even do that? Those are the types of resolutions I make. 
 
So I didn’t make a resolution this year, but I did have fun ringing in the New Year and celebrating the fact that the World didn’t get sucked into a black hole and shattered into a gazillion pieces.  Damn Mayans.
 
On Christmas night after making my rounds to all my family member’s houses and spending exactly 2 hours at each (the perfect amount of time), I hopped in my car and headed toward the mountains for a week at Nutter Butter’s family’s cabin, where the temperature was at a high of 15 on most days and the snowfall was up to my knees.  In the almost 3 years that we’ve had this blog, I can count zero times that I’ve talked about how much I love frolicking in the snow. That’s because I don’t love it, I like warm sandy beaches where I can tan my face off and drink margaritas by the pool. Typically when it snows I take that as an opportunity to put on my ugliest sweats so I can sit around and watch rom com’s and eat food until the ground thaws in the Spring.
 
On day 1 as soon as the sun rose, NB and I suited up for my first ever snowmobile ride – where I was the passenger and he was the driver.  I don’t know if any of you have ever riden on the back of a snowmobile, but I’m pretty sure that’s the closest I’ve ever come to dying.  Riding on the back is terrifying, driving your own, however, one of the most fun things I’ve ever done.  Sure I didn’t fall off at all when he was driving, and I fell off at least half a dozen times when I was driving myself, but you know how it is.
 
So along with snowmobiling, we also did some ice fishing, ice skating, hiking, skiing, sledding, sightseeing and shopping.  The best part was that there was no one around, so with the exception of the day we went shopping and the night we went to the local watering hole, I didn’t see another person for a week, or watch tv, and had no cell phone reception, and it was amazeballs.  I came back feeling all refreshed and relaxed and about 4 hours into work on Wednesday it felt like I had never left.  At this point, I would sell all of my belongings and live in a trailor at the top of a mountain for the rest of my life with a billygoat as my only companion just to go back to the solitude.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

