…And she’s gone.

Remember that time I met a super hottie and had great conversation, then he slipped in that he had a girlfriend? Well, after a bit of an awkward weekend, the girlfriend is gone and he’s single.

It really did sort of happen overnight, after an interesting chain of events.

Friday night, he joined me for a movie… to which I attended wasted. Since he had a girlfriend, I did a pretty good job of placing him in the friendzone, despite being attracted to him. While some flirting has been exchanged, his relationship seemed pretty stable and I wasn’t out to change that.

Friday, he told me he wanted me to meet his girlfriend. I wasn’t crazy about it, but said if it would make him feel better, cool.

Saturday, a group of us joined for brunch (bottomless champagne). One of his friends asked how his girlfriend was, he said she was good, but didn’t know when they’d see each other next (he said she doesn’t like coming here, because it’s boring and “ghetto”).

Sunday, I had invited him to a Super Bowl party and he said he’d attend, mentioning that he told his girlfriend he was  joining me for it. About an hour before I was expecting to see him, he said she surprised him by showing up, could she come to the party?

My heart said no, but my head said yes. So I said sure, bring her along, see you soon!

He then said, “I hope she isn’t a drag, she doesn’t like football,” and later, “She’s not a big drinker,” before finally saying they wouldn’t be coming at all.

I didn’t reply, wondering what happened there. He said, “It’s a long story, I’ll explain tomorrow.” All of us at the party guessed it was probably a rather short story, she hates me.

Fair enough.

Monday, he asked how the party was and said his night sucked. I asked what happened and he said it was too long to text. Monday evening, he called me. We talked on the phone briefly, during my drive from the “volunteer” work and a dinner party.

He sounded fine, cheerful, and we ended the call.

Later, he texted me saying he was going to sleep. Around 11:30, he sent me a message saying he couldn’t sleep.

I asked him what was wrong, if he’d been laying awake all this time?

Then he said it: well I got dumped about an hour ago, that didn’t help.

I told him I was sorry, he said not to be, and that he didn’t want to talk about it. We talked about a few non-related things and went to sleep.

In the short conversation, even through text, I felt the dynamic shift.

We were how we were because he had a girlfriend. Now he doesn’t. In an instant, the walls she had built were gone, and I was slowly building mine.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the guy. I’m attracted to him, but now that he’s single I’m doing the slow step backward. If he follows, after some time to lick his wounds, then we’ll see.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “…And she’s gone.

  1. Gina says:

    You handled this (are handling this) perfectly.

Leave a Reply

