28 Before 28 Update

Since I’ve been deep in a bout of depression recently, I almost forgot that my birthday is coming up next month. Yay. Last year when I was turning 27 I wasn’t all that depressed about it, 27 is still considered mid-twenties and isn’t on the downslope to 30. 28, however, is. 28 means I should probably have my shit together and be settling down like the rest of the World. But I’m not. I’m no closer to having a husband and family (I won’t lie, that’s what I ultimately want in life) than I was last year, or the year before that, or any of the 25 years before that. With that being said, I’m going to spend my birthday alone this year, skydiving. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do admired other people for doing. So I’ve been thinking about it and I decided that I’m going to do it, and I’m not going to invite anyone to watch, and I’m not going to ask anyone to do it with me. I’m going to take the day off work, drive to the airport, get in a plane, and jump out of that plane, by myself. And when it’s all said and done, if I live, it’s going to be a memory for me and only me to have. It’s going to be more of a growing experience for me, I’m terrified of heights and will absolutely be scared shitless, I’ll probably cry and try and back out of it, but it’s one of those things that I feel if I can do that, then I’ll be able to do anything (cue: inspirational music).Since I made this decision I told Gigi about my plan. She told me it was suicidal (it’s not. See below as to why I want to do it alone) and said she would come. In doing that, she posted my business all over Facebook and now there’s like 8 people that want to do it and the event is no longer about my birthday but is now a discussion about when everyone has a free weekend. Scusie? No. The date is March 25th and if you want to come and can’t make it, tough fucking shit. Do it on your own time.

Anyway, now that everyone thinks I’m a douchebag, I have most of my 28 before 28 list marked off – I have a little over a month to get the last few things done so I better get to it….

  1. Quit my job
  2. Find a new job
  3. Move closer to hometown
  4. Have sex with Zac Efron and/or Ryan Gosling and ultimately trick one of them into marrying me (le Sigh)
  5. Visit Las Vegas (almost there!)
  6. Get over my fear of having people touch my feet and get a pedicure
  7. Buy a new car
  8. Go on a date with a stranger
  9. Start a retirement savings account outside of the one my job offers
  10. Do Lucky’s infamous 14 day detox (I start a similar one this week)
  11. Finish learning to play the piano (I learned 2 songs, so I’m counting it)
  12. Buy living room/dining room furniture
  13. Complete a painting
  14. Pay off a student loan (Meh)
  15. Take the GRE (Didn’t end up having to do this for the below, but I will have to do it eventually.)
  16. Apply for a Masters Program
  17. Put money aside for mine and Lucky’s 30th birthday Euro trip
  18. Lose 8 pounds/tone up (I lost 8 pounds but the toning up is in progress)
  19. Buy a new camera (I got an iPhone instead. Count it!)
  20. Visit a winery
  21. Get renters insurance (I have the info, I just need to make the call)
  22. Try a gluten free diet (Part of the detox)
  23. Get the mole on my neck that bugs me removed
  24. Do something selfless to help out a stranger (Lets be honest, I do this every day when I don’t murder people in traffic)
  25. Take myself on an awesome date, that means a nice dinner and a movie – alone (already know which movie I’m going to see!)
  26. Volunteer some time to a good cause
  27. Buy the best anti-wrinkle/eye firming cream out there (I spent $46 on eye cream. Don’t judge.)
  28. Find the DeLorean and Doc Brown, and take a drive back to my 18th birthday so I can do it all over again

So I only have a few things left, and a month to do it.  Someone give me Zac Efron’s number, let’s get this show on the road.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “28 Before 28 Update

  1. Good stuff Gizz – a little inspiration for myself – I hit 33 in two weeks – and am thinking I need to get a list like this together. Though I may have to alter the Ryan Gosslin and Zac Efron for Zooey Deschanel or Allisa Milano. 🙂

    Hope you have a great birthday and if I come across Mr. Efron’s number will be sure to send it your way!

  2. Thanks, I appreciate that! Good luck forming your list, I’m working on my 29 list already – it’s a doozy! -G

  3. Gina says:

    Get a pedicure this weekend. You will never look back. It feels SO good!

Leave a Reply

