If I was your boyfriend (part 1).

A lot has been happening over the past few weeks, so much so, that it seems like it has to be more than just a few weeks. But, as usual, I have no problem taking you on a journey to the past… bringing me to my current situation, of course.

A little more than a year ago, I wrote a short blog entry about a date I went on. I had such a great time, that I didn’t even want to write about it or analyze it for fear of it going south.

This is how it all went down. Last year, I was writing some stories for the magazine on a local, very popular restaurant. One of their managers at the time, invited me to attend their annual Oscars Dinner, to thank me. Basically, they decorated the restaurant, encouraged those attending to dress up, they (literally) rolled out the red carpet, and served a 5 course meal paired with wine, while watching the Oscars.

I invited my magazine editor to join me. When we arrived, we were seated at a table with 4 other “couples”…most of whom were actually couples unlike me and Kendra who looked like drunken lesbians. Two seats over from us was a gentleman and a lady, whom I didn’t pay much attention to as I was more worried about free wine refills (of course).

Once the dinner started to wind down, he moved seats to sit next to me, asking me what my deal was, if I had a boyfriend, etc. He was very bold and confident and told me he wanted to take me on a date. I was floored… was he not with his girlfriend, right there? I asked him about that.

“No, no that is my friend Jen. I take her to events like these if I don’t have a date,” he said. When the dinner was officially over, he ordered us additional wine, complimented my dress, and asked me if I would join him for a date the following night, on a Monday.

I was hesitant, not because of him, but because I was fresh out of my last stint with BEX and I was afraid that if I went on a date and it went poorly, I would feel even worse about myself. I had also just started going to therapy. I didn’t know if a date was really a great decision for me at that point.

He told me that I could decided later.

“I will be right here at 6:30 pm if you decide to come. If you do, I’ll see you there. If not, no pressure, and you never have to see me again,” he said. We didn’t even exchange numbers.

I waited until the last minute to decide if I was going to go or not, and I decided to just do it…what really did I have to lose? So I threw on some jeans and headed to the restaurant, arriving a little early and ordering a glass of wine at the bar.

At exactly 6:30, he appeared on the stool next to me.

“I’m actually shocked you’re here,” he said.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “If I was your boyfriend (part 1).

  1. Gina says:

    Argh! I hate waiting for Part II!!!!

    (But I’m happy for you.)

Leave a Reply

