Songs that make bad relationships okay.

This is a post I’ve been thinking about for a long time, bear with me.

It all started when I was in the God-awful wedding last summer. You know, the one where the hubby-to-be convinced the bride-to-be she was an alcoholic, so she decided to make all of the events dry and I drank anyway, and then found out he tried to call off the wedding. It was two people that should’ve never gotten married and their wedding song was a song that people in bad relationships love because the song glorifies shitty situations.

And the more I listen to the radio, the more I hear songs like these. So, I present to you, Lucky’s list of songs that make bad relationships seem like a fine idea.

1. I Won’t Give Up by Jason Mraz

This is the song the awful couple danced to at their wedding. Because OF COURSE they did. The couple that got together, broke up, got together, got engaged, tried to call it off, went to counseling, and forced a wedding upon us all, needed a song that basically sings, “I’ve invested all of this time in us so I’m never leaving even if the world ends.”

2. One More Night by Maroon 5

I like this song. But I will say that when I was hooking up with the married guy, he told me that this song made him think of me and how he always wanted “one more night.” Ugh.

I mean the song is basically saying, “yeah we fight all the time but we are both hot so let’s fuck just one more time.”

3. We Found Love by Rihanna

There aren’t many words to this song aside from “We found love in a hopeless place,” which basically makes me think of that time Chris Brown punched Rihanna in the face and then she got back together with him and came out with this song like anyone gave a shit.

4. You Know That I’m No Good by Amy Winehouse

I love Amy Winehouse. And I love this song. But it’s just an anthem for cheaters everywhere singin’ HAY I CHEATED, BUT I TOLD YOU I WOULD!!!!

5. Ordinary People by John Legend

Again, love John Legend. And I love this song. A lot. However, the lyrics to this song just make it THE JAM for anyone in a relationship that just had a fight and then you can say, “Oh, we’re just ordinary people.” It’s essentially the “YOLO” of bad relationships. Besides, what does “ordinary people” even mean?

Got any songs to add to this list?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Songs that make bad relationships okay.

  1. Gina says:

    It’s old, and I’ve always liked it: Dave Matthews Band’s “Say Goodbye” is basically about hooking up with someone else behind your beloved’s back and then pretending like nothing happened.

  2. YES!! I do love that song… but it is so wrong! -L

  3. Matthew says:

    One of my best friends had her (now Ex) boyfriend make what he thought was a romantic request of Hinder’s “Lips of an Angel” on the radio one evening.

    No better way to tell your girl how much you care about her by requesting a song about a guy thinking about one woman, while he’s with another.

  4. Meg says:

    OMG! I’ve had three relationships where these awful kinds of songs were “our” songs…I Won’t Give Up, My Life Would Suck Without You by Kelly Clarkson and we can’t forget Love the Way You Lie by Eminem and Rihanna.

Leave a Reply

