Why I am a quitter.

Earlier this week, I quit my job at the magazine.

I know I’ve mentioned before problems that I’ve been having with the magazine, but just for shit’s sake, I’ll give you a little recap.

Things really got hairy this year. At the end of last year, you might remember that I was really excited when our editor, Jeremy, told me they were going to create a food section and asked me if I wanted to be a part of the meetings when they created it.

Yes, yes, yes!

But when the new year rolled around, the editors decided they would cancel the writers’ meetings because I was the only person showing up. While I was happy that I didn’t have to leave work to attend a lame meeting, they didn’t set up any kind of replacement for pitching stories.

So for weeks I was emailing the editors my story pitches and was never getting any response back…so I went weeks without any assignments, which also means weeks with no pay.

When I finally emailed begging for an assignment, they asked me if I’d be interested in brainstorming for an article on online dating. I said sure, especially because I was (and still am) obsessed with CATFISH!

I started brainstorming, and made a post on my Facebook page, asking if anyone had any experience in online dating, the good, the bad, and the ugly. I got 4 good leads, and sent the editor an email explaining them and asking if I should pursue them.

Jeremy told me they were great ideas, but I wasn’t allowed to interview my friends, so he would assign another writer to my story.

I didn’t reply. I knew another writer wasn’t going to come through. Plus, a story about online dating wasn’t necessarily anything cutting edge. Online dating profiles are private information, so unless the story is on someone like Manti Teo, you have to ask people you know about their experiences.

A few days later, Jeremy sent me an email asking me how the online dating story was coming along? I told him it wasn’t coming at all since he said I couldn’t interview my friends.

He emailed me back apologizing for the confusion, but saying he thought a story with snippets from online dating profiles would be cool.

Excuse me? You just told me I couldn’t interview my friends because of journalistic integrity and you want to swipe peoples’ online dating profiles to get a laugh?

I didn’t reply to that and in the midst of all this, I get an email he sent to the whole staff, announcing the new food editor—some guy I’d never heard of. Thanks, thanks a lot.

***TO BE CONTINUED…***

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

