I turned into a hippie freak

As Lucky mentioned yesterday I too am doing a food challenge.  Mine isn’t so much for detox like Lucky’s, but is mostly just to increase overall wellness and a reason for me to take notice of all the garbage I’m putting into my body. And I’ll also say that I’ve done the Advocare challenge that Lucky is doing a few times, and it’s way harder than what I’m doing. WIth that you literally have to make everything yourself and it sucks donkey, so lets give props to her.

I’m doing a challenge to see if I can eat paleo for 30 days. I’m sure by now everyone knows what paleo is, but in the event that you don’t I’ll give you a little run down. There are different versions of paleo and all kinds of rules that go along with it, but the gist is that you eat food that caveman ate.  Which means fruit, veggies, nuts, lean meats and fish and that’s basically it. The super paleo people go so far as to make sure all the fruits, veggies, and nuts they eat are organic and the animals are grass fed and pasture raised. I like the idea of all that; but lets be honest, I’m a baller on a budget and that super paleo shit is expensive. So I do the best I can.  

I decided to do the challenge because of all the health benefits that come along with it. I read that those who suffer from headaches and joint pain often find that changing their diet helps relieve a lot of the ache, it helps clear skin, gives mental clarity and of course helps with weight loss.  So I figured why not, the worst that could happen is I would look good and feel great at the end of it, right? Right.

I’m a few weeks in and started the challenge reminding myself that it was only for 30 days, not forever and as soon as it was over I could have all the PSL (not really cause it’s going to be gone!) and cinnamon rolls I wanted. The only thing I have really had a huge craving for is chocolate and PSL.  And you’re allowed to have dark chocolate on paleo, but it’s just not the same.  Paleo has been around long enough that there are a lot of good recipes out there that are paleo substitutes for anything non-paleo you could want. Except grilled cheese, still haven’t found one for that.  But in general it’s pretty doable, unless you’re super busy, then you’re fucked because if you have a hankering for cookies or banana bread you’ve got to make that shit yourself. The groceries stores just got on board with gluten free stuff, so I’m sure paleo isn’t far behind, but for now we’re on our own.

Anyway, the challenge got me reading labels, something I rarely did before.  I started looking at ingredients to see if things were paleo friendly and realized how much shit I am putting in my body that I really have no clue what the hell it is.  (By the way, my new general rule of thumb when this is over is that if there are more than 2 ingredients that I can’t pronounce/don’t know what it is – I’m not going to eat it. I may regret this decision.) So I started googling. And that lead me to swearing to never put certain foods in my mouth again. One of those being peanuts. Want to know why? 

They add MSG to it.  Riddle me this, why the fuck do they need to add MSG to peanuts? They are born exactly the way you eat them.  There is really no processing needed aside from removing the shell and adding a little salt. But they add the one thing everyone wants to stay away from and people don’t even realize they are eating it because they are peanuts for God’s sake. But they add it, along with a whole gaggle of other shit you probably would prefer not to eat. At some point I’ll scare everyone to death and post everything else I found, but I ain’t got the times right now ya’ll.  

I blame this all on the health nut freaks I work with. They turned me. They turned me into one of them and I like it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I turned into a hippie freak

  1. Matthew says:

    Though the whole Paleo diet has some pretty good recipes, I was never able to get on-board with the entire idea…and I did a LOT of reading up on it. The Ex (remember that one?) was hardcore into Paleo so I did my best to support that when we had our meals together, but there were so many inconsistencies between those For, and those Against, Paleo that it just didn’t seem worthwhile.

    But if you like cabbage and sausage I have a pretty good recipe.

    • Ok let’s call it eating healthy for 30 days and what I’m eating falls under the paleo diet. I probably should have elaborated on exactly what I’m eating. I’m not baking muffins or having paleo shakes, none of that tasty modern food. My challenge is more strict. I’m eating unprocessed (with the exception of meat, kind of hard to get around that one unless I kill and gut animals myself) foods. For example, today my breakfast was 2 eggs, half an avocado, 2 slices of uncured sugarless bacon. Lunch is a spinach salad with strawberries, blueberries, almonds and chicken. Dinner will be chili that I made with beef, tomatoes, and peppers.

      • Matthew says:

        You’d have one heck of a blog if you did kill, and gut, your own meat.

        Just sayin’.

        I’m hoping to do something similar soon though. That’s why I’m working on eating all of the chips/popcorn/muffins/candy/etc in the house to rid myself of it; then it’s more fresh cooking and such.

        Stinks I have 4 boxes of cereal that need to go somewhere though…like my nephew.

Leave a Reply

