Herrrroooo!!!

Hey guys! Sorry it’s been so long!

I am just returning from spending a week with Gizzy & Buttons, and it was SO fun, I’m pretty much still recovering. I have so much to tell you guys, but I’ll try not to ramble, and I’ll try to remember everything.

Initially, Gizzy invited me to town for a wedding she was invited to — it was my first time as a “plus one,” and it was really fun, considering the wedding was VERY FANCY, only we both got hammered, and I thought I was going to barf, and then we both started crying (not until the cab ride tho) because we’re single, and actually Gizzy was the one who ended up being sick.

Go us.

The rest of the week followed suit, as we ate and drank all sorts of yummy things, watched trashy TV (including The Bachelorette finale, who’s glad she picked Josh?!??!?!), and all-in-all, it was a jolly time. When I got back into town, one of my coworkers picked me up and filled me in on everything that happened at the office since I’ve been out.

While most of what she said was pretty standard, she DID say that I could look online and get my raise information. I was really nervous to look, but I did… and I was disappointed.

Before the raise, my salary was $41,600. The raise bumped me to $43,014.

Do I sound like a diva? When I told my coworker about the raise, she was all, “CONGRATS, THATS SO AWESOME, I HOPE THAT MAKES YOU FEEL BETTER ABOUT RETURNING TO WORK!!!!”

Umm, it really didn’t. I think that’s like a 3% raise, and I was hoping for 8-10%. I feel like I’ve taken on an entirely different job, without being asked, and I’ve done a pretty awesome job at it, not to mention that I’ve only gotten one raise in the 6 years I’ve worked here (when I went from $40K to $41K).

I dunno, what do you guys think? Standard? Or am I being a diva?

One thought on “Herrrroooo!!!

  1. Matthew says:

    Sadly I’d say that sounds about standard these days, and more so because it’s really only the 2nd raise you’ve been given since starting.

    It all really depends on the business. There are some that have only given raises due to the rise in cost-of-living, and there are others who give yearly raises based on a performance bell-curve within the entire team/department.

    …or was your question entirely rhetorical… 🙂

Leave a Reply

