Beef Stroganoff

Hi everyone! I know you haven’t heard from us in a REALLY long time. We’ve learned that as you get older you really like staying in and not socializing, so that doesn’t make for great blog posts. I can report that both Lucky and I are still single, so there’s that. We could have a full on relatable blog about being in your mid-30’s and being a dog/cat mom, but I feel our reach would only be to people exactly like us. I digress, I am really here because I’m in the midst of a dark time and still find humor/annoyance in spending all my time with my family. This seemed like the kind of messed up place to come to talk about it.

You all might remember about 10 years ago when we were hot and heavy on this blog that I had just graduated college and was living with my parents while I looked for a full time job. I did a lot of complaining about my roommates (parents), but here I am again, 10 years later, living with them. The situation is different, but the drama is the same. I moved in with them in mid-July because I was home shopping (side note: I was not a crazy that started home shopping BECAUSE of COVID, I was doing it before and that makes me sane). I hadn’t found “the one” yet and my apartment lease expired, so they were gracious enough to have me back to eat all their booberries. During that time my mom was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. Of course our family is devastated, truly do not know how we will all survive without her as a family or individually, but that’s a whole different story.
Since COVID is still very much a thing (leave and don’t ever come back if you disagree) and since my mom is very vulnerable to all sickness crap, we are heavily in the Q right now. So I am with my parents and sister all. the. time. My mom and I really noticed stepdad’s OCD ramping up after her diagnosis, like to the point where if he saw you peeling off a sock, he would have it swooped up and in it’s very own load of laundry before it ever hit the floor. It’s not just laundry, it’s everything.

Enter: beef stroganoff. A few weeks ago he made “beef stroganoff”.  I was not around when said meal was prepared, so when I went to the kitchen and saw it I proclaimed, “Oooo hamburger helper!” and was dutifully corrected that no, it was in fact “beef stroganoff”. When you google beef stroganoff the ingredients are always beef, noodles, mushrooms, and onions. This had beef, noodles, and some kind of sauce (maybe it was cheeseburger flavoring, maybe it wasn’t), but none-the-less, onions and mushrooms were not in attendance. For the next week and a half, all I heard at the 10 meal times throughout the day was that he was “going to have some “beef stroganoff”, would anyone else like some “beef stroganoff”? The “beef stroganoff” would be good with some gravy. Would I eat some “beef stroganoff” with some gravy?” You get the picture. I was a “beef stroganoff” girl living in a “beef stroganoff” world. If I ever get married I think that day will feel a lot like the day the last of the “beef stroganoff” got eaten, it was euphoric and I think I heard actual angels singing.

The day after I had that out of body experience, some of my mom’s old work friends brought food over because that’s what people do. Stepdad was gone huntin’ when this food arrived so I brought it inside and unpacked it. We were gifted with an apple pie, some kind of marshmallow fruit goop, and a big ass casserole. Stepdad came home from huntin’ and immediately made himself a plate of the casserole. After the first bite he announced to no one particular, “This “beef stroganoff” is delicious!” No. No. NO! Later that evening I made myself a plate, the ingredients for this “beef stroganoff” were hamburger, noodles, corn, carrots, and mashed potatoes on top. This was a swift exit from the pure delight I experienced the day before and threw me back into the land of “beef stroganoff”. 

Anyway, it’s almost dinner time. I’m making hamburgers beef stroganoffs.

P.s. Neal Bledsoe accepted my facebook friend request.

Leave a comment